Veggie Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
Meh, this turned out mushy for me and too bland. I had to add more soy sauce and black pepper to give it a little kick. I also covered it in breadcrumbs are pan-fried it because I had no grill. The breadcrumbs gave it a nice, toasty smell, but the insides took a very, very long time to cook. It's alright, though I will not be making this again even though I really wanted to like it... it was one of the few veggie burger recipes with no beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rocksugarpie

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
I've tried this recipe twice, and they are bland, tasteless, dry and borderline disgusting. The second time I made these (last night) I added some chopped mushrooms thinking that they would add some flavor and moisture. That was a big negative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Redhead79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
I added a few more veggies (to clean out my fridge) and used panko instead of flour to coat, but otherwise followed the recipe. The taste was pretty good - better than I was expecting, actually! I wish the texture had been a little crunchier - my burgers turned out mushy on the inside. Next time I might chop my veggies more coarsely. I used my food processor and I think it shredded everything too fine. I worried my husband wouldn't like them, but he said they were "delicious"! Oh, I did add some salt when I was sauteing the veggies, and I mixed some garlic powder, onion powder and dried parsley in with the panko to coat them. I cooked them on a cast iron frying pan over medium-low heat, and they held together well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
Delicious! I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
Really loved this recipe - I added a can of ground up chick peas for protien and next time will leave out the egg (don't really think you 100% need it) for my brother-in-law who doesn't eat eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Amazing!! Everyone in the family loved the them. The taste was better then I thought. I kept true to the ingredients This recipe is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Meaty, chewy texture & good flavor. I followed the recipe. Easy to make. Husband said if I hadn't told him, he'd be asking me what kind of meat these were.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Delicious. Made a 4 person batch and added one more egg. Was hesitant it would stick together but it actually did. Cooked 10 minutes each side on med low heat covered. Converted my meat eating husband
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
GOD BLESS for such a lovely receipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I used this recipe as a starting point and added some other veggies I had on hand (mushrooms, spinach, broccoli & corn). I used mostly oats for the binder and just a few tablespoons of flour and some cornmeal too for texture. I tasted the mix with just the soy sauce and it was pretty bland so I added more salt & pepper, some curry powder, coriander, cumin and sweet paprika. I didn't have time to grill them, so I dusted them with more cornmeal and put them in the oven at 350 for maybe 15 minutes a side. I got 6 decent sized patties out of the recipe and ended up flattening them a bit during cooking because they seemed to still feel a little mushy inside. Overall, I think it's a great veggie burger base recipe, but I could see adding quite a bit more for flavor. Maybe some ketchup and worcestershire or liquid smoke as other reviewers said. Will definitely be trying them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Mushroom Veggie Burger

See how to make a flavorful veggie burger that’s never dry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States