Vegetarian White Bean 'Alfredo' with Linguine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 26, 2010
This sauce is great. This will be a regular in my house. I did pureed it and I like it much better. I also added a onion with the garlic and fresh parsley at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Made this last night and my daughter and I liked it alot. It is a little on the bland side so we were generous with the salt and peeper. I also added some chopped fresh parsley. We were out of soy milk, so I used reconstituted dry milk. As some of the other reviewers said, it is a thin sauce, so I thickened it with a flour/water mixture for a truer "Alfredo" texture. We served this with a side vegetable and a salad so we left out the asparagus, but it still tasted very good. My daughter begged for the leftovers for lunch today and it tasted even better - definitely making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
This tasted great! To me, almost exactly like alfredo, but much healthier. I substituted almond milk for the soy, and coconut oil for the butter and it came out delicious. I blended the "alfredo" up with a hand blender... The consistency was perfect. This is an excellent recipe for anyone, but of special interest to those veg*ns who are looking for a good alfredo sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
This was so creamy and wonderful. I added some grated parmesan on top and some black pepper and red pepper flakes. Delicious and definitely a keeper! Made me feel not so guilty about making alfredo and could be a good way to sneak some beans into a kiddo's diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by k861084

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vincennes, Indiana, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
For those who don't care for the soy milk, rice or almond milk may be substituted. Vegans can replace the butter with Earth Balance non-dairy spread, and use the many non-dairy "cheeses" available.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veganator

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Juan Capistrano, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
This is very good - my kids really like it. I made it twice so far, and the second time I pureed all of the beans (the kids didn't eat the whole beans the first time). Also I used regular 2 percent milk instead of soy and it tasted better to us. This is going into regular rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaMock

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
I was a bit apprehensive about pasta with beans, but it turned out to be a pretty good, quick, and easy recipe with just a few modifications. I used what I had on hand: fresh linguine, steamed broccoli, and a can of navy beans. To make the sauce, I gently sauteed the garlic in olive oil and then added the beans, which I did not drain all the way. The beans tasted nothing like alfredo and they were pretty bland, so I added a bit of curry and lemon juice to the beans as they warmed. I did not like the sound of adding milk, so I incorporated a bit of the pasta water instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NonnaNaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
nice but use real milk the soy tastes funny
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Bognanni

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
My daughter is 14 and is experimenting with vegetarian meals. The taste was good, but texture with shells of the Navy beans did not make it appealing. Next time I will puree the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
I liked the flavor of this a lot. It's much healthier and packs protein. The texture of the sauce wasn't as appealing. Next time I'll puree all of the beans, milk, sauteed garlic, spices/s/p, and maybe some silken tofu in a food processor before simmering it. I would like it to be thick and very creamy. The idea of using beans in a sauce is great, and I'll definitely try this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Dough

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

White Bean and Artichoke Salad

This simple chilled bean salad is dressed with olive oil and wine vinegar.

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States