Vegetarian White Bean 'Alfredo' with Linguine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
I liked the flavor of this a lot. It's much healthier and packs protein. The texture of the sauce wasn't as appealing. Next time I'll puree all of the beans, milk, sauteed garlic, spices/s/p, and maybe some silken tofu in a food processor before simmering it. I would like it to be thick and very creamy. The idea of using beans in a sauce is great, and I'll definitely try this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Dough

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
This is very good - my kids really like it. I made it twice so far, and the second time I pureed all of the beans (the kids didn't eat the whole beans the first time). Also I used regular 2 percent milk instead of soy and it tasted better to us. This is going into regular rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaMock

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
My daughter is 14 and is experimenting with vegetarian meals. The taste was good, but texture with shells of the Navy beans did not make it appealing. Next time I will puree the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
My husband likes this. This is a great, healthy alternative to Alfredo, and it's vegan if you use soy milk & vegan margarine (I use Blue Bonnet Light Spread). It does need a bit more seasoning though and less milk. I like to add lemon pepper, crushed red pepper and oregano. I also used zucchini & yellow squash instead of asparagus to cut down cost. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy Parker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Porte City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Made this last night and my daughter and I liked it alot. It is a little on the bland side so we were generous with the salt and peeper. I also added some chopped fresh parsley. We were out of soy milk, so I used reconstituted dry milk. As some of the other reviewers said, it is a thin sauce, so I thickened it with a flour/water mixture for a truer "Alfredo" texture. We served this with a side vegetable and a salad so we left out the asparagus, but it still tasted very good. My daughter begged for the leftovers for lunch today and it tasted even better - definitely making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
I was a bit apprehensive about pasta with beans, but it turned out to be a pretty good, quick, and easy recipe with just a few modifications. I used what I had on hand: fresh linguine, steamed broccoli, and a can of navy beans. To make the sauce, I gently sauteed the garlic in olive oil and then added the beans, which I did not drain all the way. The beans tasted nothing like alfredo and they were pretty bland, so I added a bit of curry and lemon juice to the beans as they warmed. I did not like the sound of adding milk, so I incorporated a bit of the pasta water instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NonnaNaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
nice but use real milk the soy tastes funny
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
This was so creamy and wonderful. I added some grated parmesan on top and some black pepper and red pepper flakes. Delicious and definitely a keeper! Made me feel not so guilty about making alfredo and could be a good way to sneak some beans into a kiddo's diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by k861084

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vincennes, Indiana, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
This recipe is really good, but the calories posted are WAY off. I scaled the butter back by half and used fat free evaporated milk (comes in 12 oz cans, so it's perfect!) instead of the soy, but the calories I got in my calorie tracker (myfitnesspal.com, looooove it) said 427, only 14 calories different than the 441 listed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deeray82

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Surprisingly delicious! I couldn't help but add a little parmesean cheese, and I was skeptical about a bean sauce. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brittmichelle

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

White Bean and Artichoke Salad

This simple chilled bean salad is dressed with olive oil and wine vinegar.

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States