Vegetarian Tortilla Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
This was one of the easiest things I've ever cooked...and the best part is that everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
This is a easy dish to make. When I can't find green enchilada sauce, I make the recipe with red enchilada sauce and a small can of green chilies. We had this last night --love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
This was wonderful. My 7 and 5 year olds even enjoyed this. Will be making again. I may even add some black olives next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
Used red enchilada sauce because it was cheaper and spicier. Ate out of bread bowls but would also be good with some frence bread chunks stirred in. Awesome recipe, will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
This was delicious and very easy! I used much more vegetarian broth (canned or from a carton) to make it more like a soup. Kids and non-vegetarian husband all loved it. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2006
Absolutely delicious! Quick and easy to make. You'd never know by tasting it, just how easy it was to make. I substituted canned vegetarian veggie broth instead of the bouillon cube and water as I had the cans handy. I did add veggie turkey (couldn't find chicken at my store) and it really gave it a nice texture. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
We have loved this recipe and have made it on a weekly basis since trying it a few weeks ago! We also used red enchilada sauce since we could not find green that was vegetarian and used black soy beans as the beans. Also, we used veggie crumbles instead of the veggie chicken and sauteed that with an onion before adding the corn and beans. Also, we left out the tortilla and topped it with shredded cheese. Delicious and super simple recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
I'm from new Mexico which is known for the green chili, so I wanted to try this recipe. it is very good but I did make some changes. However, they are not vegetarian additions. First of all, I doubled the recipe and I used chicken broth instead of the water (only two cups), and I added 2 cups of diced boneless chicken thighs. To spice it up some I added several dashes of jalapeno hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Beijing, Beijing (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
I thought it was vegetarian tortillas soup. It tated like it. My husband and I love it. We garnish with sourcream, and tortillas chips. To make torritllas chips, I used 2 corn tortiallas and butter both sides. Sliced thin strips and bake it at 350 degree until golden brown, about 8-10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
This ws very good, and very easy to make, I didn't use frozen corn, and I couldn't get enchilada sauce, so I used taco sauce, and it still turned out really great! I also couldn't find pinto beans and used kidney beans, neither could find mock chicken, but used veggie crumbles. Even with all the changes, it still turned out good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Tortilla Stew

Pinto beans and enchilada sauce star in this simple, meatless tortilla stew.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States