Vegetarian Tortilla Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Super fast "meatarian" variation: put everything in the pot; add 3 frozen chicken tenders (for 4 servings) in place of chicken substitute; let it all cook on low for an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
This really is delish and I learned a bit about altering my typical recipe towards being vegetarian. However, I think I'll stick with my typical recipe most of the time (2 parts broth to 1 part salsa, with as many onions and summer squashes chopped up and thrown in as you like, with nothing else added until individuals add to their own bowls: protein of choice, tortillas, and optionally some FF cheese or sour cream - BTW we like the veggies either cooked until just tender, or cooked to bits, but not so much the half-way overcooked version). Anyway, I'll probably stick with that broth/veg as a base prior to serving, and this is the reason why: by weight watcher's standards, the base for my regular recipe is point free. That means that some members of my family can add lots of extra calories (such as my 15 yo 6'1" son and my active husband), while my 11 yo daughter and I add in smaller amounts of the extras - in keeping with our individual caloric needs. - Anyway, there might be times when I'll serve this yummy version as a change of pace, as it really is delish.... Yum! Most of all, thanks for sharing - somehow I hadn't thought of using beans in my own soup instead of the chicken that was suggested by the original recipe, and then one of your reviewers taught me that these soups can be thickened by adding tortillas earlier in the cooking process............... Pretty cool!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
GREAT:but,Don't you just hate that..Anyway,white or gold Hominy sets it off.Keep up the great cooking. ;0
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
SO GOOD. And very easy to make :]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
Good but, my choice of a green salsa in substitution for green enchilada sauce made for a nearly too-hot-to-eat dish. And we loooove hot food! Next time, I'll use something else, and it may go up to 5 stars. Used dehydrated soy-chicken, and that was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Awesome Recipe, thanks for sharing. I added extra corn and used black beans instead of pinto beans. I can't stop eating it, lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Loved it!! I added fire roasted tomatoes instead of regular, and the whole can. I had white corn tortilla chips on hand, and used those up instead of corn tortillas. I just crushed them on top with the sour cream and cheese and it was awesome. Very easy recipe, and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
Loved it! I used half green enchilada and half red enchilada sauce. Guest thought it was fabulous. I would ditch the chicken substitute. It did not add much in my opinion or I would go with real shredded chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
This goes together fast and tastes delicious. I generally make things exactly as the recipe states the first time around before I add any personal touches. The only thing I did differently the second time around was add a small chopped onion and half a diced, seeded jalapeno for some heat. My husband says I should make it more often every time he has it:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Delray Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Really good soup, despite it being summer. I would enjoy this even better during the cold winter. Anyway, in Canada it's almost impossible to find green enchilada sauce at the grocery store. I was able to find Herdez brand green salsa, so I used that. I used homemade veggie broth instead of the bullion, and I also substituted black beans for pinto beans. It's really yummy and has a nice kick that compliments guacamole and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Tortilla Stew

Pinto beans and enchilada sauce star in this simple, meatless tortilla stew.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States