Vegetarian Tortilla Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I LOVE THIS SOUP!!! So so sooo good!!! It was extremely easy to make too! I used a 10 oz can of enchilada sauce and the taste was wonderful not too over powering but still packed a punch. I also added the crushed red pepper flakes, 2 cloves fresh garlic, and regular vegetable broth as suggested by other reviewers and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Delicious! Used black bean, broth instead of the bullion and water, and tortilla chips just because that's all I had. Will be a regular menu item.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
I was skeptical. But wow! I made two crockpots- one vegetarian, and one Non-veggie (but I used the same basic recipe). EVERYONE had seconds (and that never happens!) This is a wonderful recipe as-is, or to use as a base for alterations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARYATID

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Avon, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Easy, quick meal! So good to eat! I used vegetable broth instead of the water/bouillon cube and added 1 (15 oz) can black beans, drained & rinsed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
I made this for four big fellas and they all loved it.Didnt alter the recipe at all.very nice ,I will make it again.One fella did add hot sauce ,which along with cheese I placed on table.They had meat barritos as main this was a warm up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Super fast "meatarian" variation: put everything in the pot; add 3 frozen chicken tenders (for 4 servings) in place of chicken substitute; let it all cook on low for an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
This really is delish and I learned a bit about altering my typical recipe towards being vegetarian. However, I think I'll stick with my typical recipe most of the time (2 parts broth to 1 part salsa, with as many onions and summer squashes chopped up and thrown in as you like, with nothing else added until individuals add to their own bowls: protein of choice, tortillas, and optionally some FF cheese or sour cream - BTW we like the veggies either cooked until just tender, or cooked to bits, but not so much the half-way overcooked version). Anyway, I'll probably stick with that broth/veg as a base prior to serving, and this is the reason why: by weight watcher's standards, the base for my regular recipe is point free. That means that some members of my family can add lots of extra calories (such as my 15 yo 6'1" son and my active husband), while my 11 yo daughter and I add in smaller amounts of the extras - in keeping with our individual caloric needs. - Anyway, there might be times when I'll serve this yummy version as a change of pace, as it really is delish.... Yum! Most of all, thanks for sharing - somehow I hadn't thought of using beans in my own soup instead of the chicken that was suggested by the original recipe, and then one of your reviewers taught me that these soups can be thickened by adding tortillas earlier in the cooking process............... Pretty cool!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
GREAT:but,Don't you just hate that..Anyway,white or gold Hominy sets it off.Keep up the great cooking. ;0
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
SO GOOD. And very easy to make :]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
Good but, my choice of a green salsa in substitution for green enchilada sauce made for a nearly too-hot-to-eat dish. And we loooove hot food! Next time, I'll use something else, and it may go up to 5 stars. Used dehydrated soy-chicken, and that was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Tortilla Stew

Pinto beans and enchilada sauce star in this simple, meatless tortilla stew.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States