Vegetarian Tortilla Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
I loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
I just made this for my mom and she swore I bought it from a restaurant. This recipe is awesome and a definite staple from now on. Instead of seasoning w/ salt I added a little Adobo instead. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marimour

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
I made this soup for a work carry-in and it was NOT a hit. Why am I giving it 5 stars? The next day, the leftovers were fabulous! This soup gets better with age. My advice, make it the day before so that it can 'cure' in the refrigerator. YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
I loved it because it's quick and easy to prepare and it had great flavor! My family says it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly McCutcheon-Seabolt

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
My husband and I love this recipe! It is easy to make and I usually double the recipe so that we can eat the left overs all week.I don't change a thing besides topping it with some cheddar cheese. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
Love it, love it, love it! To add spicyness I add a can of tomatoes with diced chiles. I also add a can of hominy to make it as close to menudo as a vegetarian can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Oh. My. Gosh. and Holy Cow, too!! I only made this b/c of all the great reviews, so in case there's someone else out there like me, I thought I'd better add another! This was SO good, and (for once) I followed the recipe exactly. (Well, I planned to, until I realized I had tortilla chips, not corn tortillas.) That being said, I added the chips and cheddar cheese at the end, and it was better than the Tortilla Soup they served at Chili's when I worked there. Thank you so much for this recipe. This will DEF become my new favorite "comfort food!" BTW, it would be just as good w/o the "chicken."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Shoger Martin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Harrogate, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
This is a VERY VERY good soup! Now, I kind of messed up the vegetarian part of it by adding a couple of diced up chicken breasts. I cooked that first in the pot and then added everything else as directed. I used black beans instead pinto since that's what I had on hand and when it was all done I added a little diced up avocado and a bit of fresh lime juice...YUMMY!! I'll definately do this again and double the recipe next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Livingston, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
This was fabulous. I made it without the meat substitute. It will be a regular at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mina Farahmandi Lewis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
I made this with red (mild) enchilada sauce since I couldn’t find green, and it was much too spicy for my taste! Still a very good dish, but I’d cut down an ounce or two on the enchilada sauce to increase the health value a little – and next time, I’ll definitely use green sauce, or else have some sour cream on hand to steal some of the bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Tortilla Stew

Pinto beans and enchilada sauce star in this simple, meatless tortilla stew.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States