Vegetarian Tortilla Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
5+++!! I never would have though to use enchilada sauce as a soup base but it is a genious idea. So delicious! I used broth instead of bouillon and black beans instead of chicken substitute. It was absolutely wonderful-so healthy and easy too! Thanks-I'll definitely be making this regularly! Note: If you want a brothy soup with pieces of tortilla in it, don't add your tortillas until just before serving, even just directly into the bowl and pour the soup on top & stir. If you cook it too long with the tortillas in, they will break apart and thicken the soup. It's great both ways-we LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
I made this soup for a work carry-in and it was NOT a hit. Why am I giving it 5 stars? The next day, the leftovers were fabulous! This soup gets better with age. My advice, make it the day before so that it can 'cure' in the refrigerator. YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
This is a easy dish to make. When I can't find green enchilada sauce, I make the recipe with red enchilada sauce and a small can of green chilies. We had this last night --love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
This was great!! I couldn't find green enchilada sauce so I used red... we were all nearly in tears because it was so spicy, but it still tasted great! I used morningstar farms vegetarian 'chicken' strips (which I love in nearly anything!) and I added extra tortillas. Thanks for the great recipe!!!! ***************update: one night while making this, I added a can of refried beans on a whim.. it was great!! Great soup all around, thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
I have made this a few times and I love it! So easy and tasty! The first time I made it I was nervous because we had friends from Mexico over and they said it was the best tortilla soup they had had since they left! I have only used red enchilada sauce because I always prefer red to green. I have made this vegetarian, substituting vegetable broth for buillion and dropping the chicken substitute and I have made it non-vegetarian with boiled and shredded chicken instead of the chicken substitute and using chicken broth instead of buillion. I like it both ways! I typically double the beans and corn and it is great with black beans instead of pinto for a slightly prettier appearance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
Awesome recipe!!! I used 2 of the smaller cans of the green enchilada sauce and also added 1 can of black beans as I omitted meat and I also used 1 can of corn instead of frozen. I cooked all ingredients in a crock pot and let cook for a few hours stirring occassionally. I broke up pcs of corn tortilla before serving. I served with sour cream and it was incredible. I also crushed up some tortilla chips and sprinkled in my bowl for some crunch. Will for sure make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelby Township, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Great recipe! I live in San Diego so I can be a bit picky about my Mexican food, but this recipe is super easy and tasty. Followed the recipe exactly and turned out perfectly, but lots of room for substitutions/extra veggies if you prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennafir

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Very good and EASY..which is key for me...I used 2 cloves fresh garlic and vegetable broth instead of bouillon/water. Also added some red pepper flakes...I was so hungry I had some as soon as done..lol..but I can see as someone else stated, I bet it will have an even better flavor tomorrow! Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Really delicious for how fast and easy it is, and it's even better the next day. I'm a meat eater and usually am wishing for meat to add to veggie dishes but I didn't miss a thing with this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
This was great but SPICY and we love spicy food. I used a medium verde sauce, omitted the beans and added 2 diced chicken breasts. I also added juice from 1 lime and sliced tortilla strips. This is definatly a soup I will make when I need to clean out a stuffy nose or sinus infection. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LED87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Tortilla Stew

Pinto beans and enchilada sauce star in this simple, meatless tortilla stew.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States