Vegetarian Tortilla Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 11, 2009
i made this one night and it was so awesome that i had 3 big bowls... and i never eat that much not even in 1 week... it was the best thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by primcessmichelle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Yummy. :-) Since I'm not a vegetarian, I used chicken bouillon and real cut-up chicken in it. I make plenty of non-meat dishes, but also didn't see a reason to find veggie chicken just to keep it "official." I also have never purchased green enchilada sauce and just used red that I already had. It was a bit, well not too spicy exactly, but just tasted a bit too much like enchilada sauce soup. I will try adding more of the water/bouillon next time to try to drown that out a bit. I didn't down-score it cause of that, since I'm the one who substituted w/red.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
This is my favorite stew. I've made this three times and each time when I've opened the can of enchilada sauce I found it was red that I bought by mistake. At least once I want to try it with the green sauce but my sub-conscious must want the red and no wonder because it is so delicious that way. I did use hominy instead of corn and whatever kind of bean I have on hand. I'm making it again tomorrow to share with my neighbor who is ill. This time on purpose I'm using red. I'll use the green someday. Thanks for the recipe, my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laguna Beach, California, USA
Living In: Orangevale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Laura Lou
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
SOO GOOD!! I was craving a bowl of hearty soup and this looked soo easy and I had just about everything on hand. I couldn't find the green enchilada sauce or salsa verde so I used the red enchilada sauce. I used black beans instead of pintos (2 cans) and decided to put in a can of green chilies. I was worried about it being to spicy and it was spicy! But this was sooo delicious. It was prepared in 20 minutes and I served this with sour cream and shredded cheddar cheese! This was just perfect. I can't wait to try the leftovers! BF had 2 bowls and contemplated a 3rd!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Lou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
Wonderful!!! I will be making this a LOT. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I made this for a friend who is undergoing chemo/radiation and her family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
A great recipe, thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wasson

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
I loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
I just made this for my mom and she swore I bought it from a restaurant. This recipe is awesome and a definite staple from now on. Instead of seasoning w/ salt I added a little Adobo instead. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marimour

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
I made this soup for a work carry-in and it was NOT a hit. Why am I giving it 5 stars? The next day, the leftovers were fabulous! This soup gets better with age. My advice, make it the day before so that it can 'cure' in the refrigerator. YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Tortilla Stew

Pinto beans and enchilada sauce star in this simple, meatless tortilla stew.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States