Vegetarian Tortilla Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
I actually started out following the recipe for this one, but of course strayed. I used everything except the chicken substitute, cilantro (ew), and corn tortillas. THEN added two cans of potatoes, diced; a can of black beans; a large can of diced green chiles; a very healthy sprinkle of nutritional yeast; and half a can of refried beans to thicken, a whole can would have been better. I wanted to make just a small amount, but that never happens. I was eating this for a week. Thankfully it was good, especially over tortilla chips with cheese and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wildomar, California, USA
Living In: Burbank, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
Delicious! I used red enchilada sauce and it was perfect! I wanted a tortilla soup that is like Qdoba's vegetarian tortilla soup and this is it! Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Excellent stew that is extremely easy to make. I did make a few changes that I think really improve this recipe. I fry onions, garlic, and green/red pepper in oil until cooked, and then add the enchilada sauce and broth. I really dislike fake chicken, so I add sliced veggie brats instead. My family of non-vegetarians really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Very good and EASY..which is key for me...I used 2 cloves fresh garlic and vegetable broth instead of bouillon/water. Also added some red pepper flakes...I was so hungry I had some as soon as done..lol..but I can see as someone else stated, I bet it will have an even better flavor tomorrow! Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
SO easy and SO delicious! I love it with cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
This was delicious. Got even better the next day. I had tortilla chips I threw in at the last second and the stew was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MizMagg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
This is a truly great tortilla soup recipe both for vegetarians and for meat eaters. I do have to caution about one element that I think is very important. Find and use green enchilada sauce. It is not always the easiest to find, but it makes the dish. I have used the red before and it is just not the same in my opinion. I believe I followed the recipe exactly, only omitting the tortilla strips. Bravissimo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
This was incredible. Everyone who ate it wanted more! I added some refried beans to the mix too. I have been looking for a vegetarian version of this soup that rocks and this is it! Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prince Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
I have made this a few times and I love it! So easy and tasty! The first time I made it I was nervous because we had friends from Mexico over and they said it was the best tortilla soup they had had since they left! I have only used red enchilada sauce because I always prefer red to green. I have made this vegetarian, substituting vegetable broth for buillion and dropping the chicken substitute and I have made it non-vegetarian with boiled and shredded chicken instead of the chicken substitute and using chicken broth instead of buillion. I like it both ways! I typically double the beans and corn and it is great with black beans instead of pinto for a slightly prettier appearance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
This is really good. I made this with the red enchilada sauce, and it adds a twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Tortilla Stew

Pinto beans and enchilada sauce star in this simple, meatless tortilla stew.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States