Vegetarian Tortilla Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Awesome Recipe, thanks for sharing. I added extra corn and used black beans instead of pinto beans. I can't stop eating it, lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Loved it!! I added fire roasted tomatoes instead of regular, and the whole can. I had white corn tortilla chips on hand, and used those up instead of corn tortillas. I just crushed them on top with the sour cream and cheese and it was awesome. Very easy recipe, and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
Loved it! I used half green enchilada and half red enchilada sauce. Guest thought it was fabulous. I would ditch the chicken substitute. It did not add much in my opinion or I would go with real shredded chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
This goes together fast and tastes delicious. I generally make things exactly as the recipe states the first time around before I add any personal touches. The only thing I did differently the second time around was add a small chopped onion and half a diced, seeded jalapeno for some heat. My husband says I should make it more often every time he has it:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Delray Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Really good soup, despite it being summer. I would enjoy this even better during the cold winter. Anyway, in Canada it's almost impossible to find green enchilada sauce at the grocery store. I was able to find Herdez brand green salsa, so I used that. I used homemade veggie broth instead of the bullion, and I also substituted black beans for pinto beans. It's really yummy and has a nice kick that compliments guacamole and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
The green enchilada sauce I got was "mild" which made this dish SOOOO mild. We (the parents) ended up adding hot sauce to ours which helped to spice it up and even the kids gobbled theirs up :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I was blown away by this recipe. Not only was it delicious but it is seriously the easiest thing I've ever made, there is no chopping or skill required. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Huntingdon Valley, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Adding hot sauce adds a nice amount of flavor to the soup, and if you can't remember cumin, extra chili powder works just fine. I accidentally bought sweet corn, but it still tasted quite delicious. Using cracked up hard taco shells are very delicious in this soup if you don't want to use soft tortilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
i love this! i garnish with green onions, black olives, sour cream, cotija cheese, crumbled chips, and a little hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janacakes
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
This was great but SPICY and we love spicy food. I used a medium verde sauce, omitted the beans and added 2 diced chicken breasts. I also added juice from 1 lime and sliced tortilla strips. This is definatly a soup I will make when I need to clean out a stuffy nose or sinus infection. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LED87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Tortilla Stew

Pinto beans and enchilada sauce star in this simple, meatless tortilla stew.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States