Vegetarian Tortilla Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
With a 6 month old baby at home, this stew was easy, quick and delicious. I couldn't find the green enchilada sauce, so I used "salsa verde" instead. I also added tofu instead of the veggie chicken substitute and served it with shredded cheese on top. This was a crowd pleaser. I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
I have made this twice, and it was yummy both times. I used black beans instead of pinto beans and red enchilada sauce as I could not find green. I have used flour tortillas instead of corn due to personal preference, and I don't put the tortilla in until I'm ready to eat it. Super yummy, and it's a great veggie meal to add to our regular rotation of dinners!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
This recipe was delicious! I used red enchilada sauce instead of green, and mixed in a can of green chilis with the beans and corn. Quick, easy and inexpensive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
This was great!! I couldn't find green enchilada sauce so I used red... we were all nearly in tears because it was so spicy, but it still tasted great! I used morningstar farms vegetarian 'chicken' strips (which I love in nearly anything!) and I added extra tortillas. Thanks for the great recipe!!!! ***************update: one night while making this, I added a can of refried beans on a whim.. it was great!! Great soup all around, thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
I made this soup for a soup club at work and everyone seemed to LOVE it. Some of my modifications included: cubes of tofu, regular corn tortilla chips instead of the strips, and cheease, sour cream, and lime to top of each bowl. I used a spicy green salsa for the broth which is why I served it with sour cream on the side; and as for the chips, I would break some up in a bowl and then ladle the soup directly over the chips. After a 2 minutes, the chips would be nice and soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
What a great recipe!! I'm sure it's great the way it's written, but I changed it a smidge for my liking. Used a sauteed onion & added a diced red pepper. Used black beans instead of pinto (more antioxidants, supposedly) And used a 28 ounce can of green enchilada sauce & a can of veggie broth. Also, I did add the veggie Chicken, but sauteed that a few minutes before adding (I didn't know if it was supposed to go in "raw" or "cooked".) Anyway, can't wait to have it again tonight & tell my sister about it. (also a Veggie)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Oak Lawn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
I loved this with my own spin on it. I added more pinto beans (maybe a cup)that were blended with my hand blender, it thickened the soup up a bit. I too used red enchilada sauce because I had it on hand. I also added about a half package of cream cheese to make it nice in creamy. We all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Brown Bogard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
I've made this a few times, it is a great quick meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
This ws very good, and very easy to make, I didn't use frozen corn, and I couldn't get enchilada sauce, so I used taco sauce, and it still turned out really great! I also couldn't find pinto beans and used kidney beans, neither could find mock chicken, but used veggie crumbles. Even with all the changes, it still turned out good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
I thought it was vegetarian tortillas soup. It tated like it. My husband and I love it. We garnish with sourcream, and tortillas chips. To make torritllas chips, I used 2 corn tortiallas and butter both sides. Sliced thin strips and bake it at 350 degree until golden brown, about 8-10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Tortilla Stew

Pinto beans and enchilada sauce star in this simple, meatless tortilla stew.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States