Vegetarian Tortilla Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
Very easy. I used 2 cups of vegetable broth and used black beans instead of corn. I also omitted the "chicken" strips. It tasted good the next day for lunch as well as fresh at dinner. I would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
This is an easy, quick and tasty recipe! I did sub a few things - I used vegetable broth instead of the bullion; I added a can of black beans and omitted the fake chicken. Serve it with cheese, sour cream and green onions! Yummy! Will definitely be making this again, and again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justine

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
This was TERRIFIC! I wasn't too excited about it before making it, but I thought I would try it since the reviews were good and it looked easy. The soup turned out to be great, and I will definitely make it again! Modifications: -Browned cubes of extra firm tofu (I used a little of the enchilada sauce instead of oil) -15 oz. black beans -Entire can of tomatoes (I got diced tomatoes with green peppers and onions) -Can of refried beans to thicken the soup I thought that the tortillas would be weird in soup, but they were actually really good. This is a thick, delicious soup. Great for vegetarians! I highly recommend it :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
I was very pleasantly surprised when I tried this. Very good and so easy! I did add the whole can of tomatoes by mistake, but think I'll always do that. I also added a can of black beans along with the pinto, no veggie chicken and I added extra cilantro, a little extra chili powder and cumin. I bet this soup is very easy to suit to your individual taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justus&Dane's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
5+++!! I never would have though to use enchilada sauce as a soup base but it is a genious idea. So delicious! I used broth instead of bouillon and black beans instead of chicken substitute. It was absolutely wonderful-so healthy and easy too! Thanks-I'll definitely be making this regularly! Note: If you want a brothy soup with pieces of tortilla in it, don't add your tortillas until just before serving, even just directly into the bowl and pour the soup on top & stir. If you cook it too long with the tortillas in, they will break apart and thicken the soup. It's great both ways-we LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
My vegetarian daughter and I (not a vege) loved this recipe. We added black beans in place of vegan chicken had some crusty bread and ate the entire pot!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Horst Blackman

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
This is a fantastic recipe. Instead of the green enchilada sauce I used Mexican Red Sauce from my Moosewood Cookbook. Added Quorn tenders chicken substitute, which has a very chicken-like texture, soaks up the flavor well. Easy, tasty, great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poland, Maine, USA
Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
This soup is delicious! I have been a vegetarian for 25 years and this is my favorite soup--but, my non-vegetarian husband LOVES it as well. I always add the whole can of tomatoes and don't leave out the veggie "chicken". Morningstar Farms has a very good one--even if you don't like meat substitutes, I bet you will like this one. Serve this with corn muffins and you have a warm and hearty meal. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
This was super good. I like my soup to be more chunky, so I added the full can of tomatoes, a can of black beans in addition to the pinto beans, and omitted the corn. It was really, really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
I made this last night, followed the recipe almost exact except used flour tortillas and black beans and it turned out great! My husband said it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heidihh1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Fridley, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Tortilla Stew

Pinto beans and enchilada sauce star in this simple, meatless tortilla stew.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States