Vegetarian Tortilla Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
This is a VERY VERY good soup! Now, I kind of messed up the vegetarian part of it by adding a couple of diced up chicken breasts. I cooked that first in the pot and then added everything else as directed. I used black beans instead pinto since that's what I had on hand and when it was all done I added a little diced up avocado and a bit of fresh lime juice...YUMMY!! I'll definately do this again and double the recipe next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Livingston, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
This was fabulous. I made it without the meat substitute. It will be a regular at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mina Farahmandi Lewis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
I made this with red (mild) enchilada sauce since I couldn’t find green, and it was much too spicy for my taste! Still a very good dish, but I’d cut down an ounce or two on the enchilada sauce to increase the health value a little – and next time, I’ll definitely use green sauce, or else have some sour cream on hand to steal some of the bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
This was excellent and the kids really liked it too. I didn't know what green enchillada sauce was so I used something called salsa verde...I'm thinking it's probably close the same thing?? Anyway, it turned out awesome with it. I used canned corn instead of frozen and black beans (what I had on hand) and didn't have the veggie chicken. Other than that, no changes and great results! I will be making this again and again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingSherri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
Pretty darn good! I tweaked it just a little - started out by sauteing a little bit of onion and 3 cloves of garlic (instead of the garlic powder) in olive oil, then followed the bulk of the recipe as stated. I had no pinto beans so used small kidney beans, and I added a whole can of tomatoes, as well as half a tiny can of green chilis (because my enchilada can was only 14 oz. instead of 19). Really good flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
Very flavorful and so easy. I used half a package of Morningstar Farms Meal Starters Chik'n Strips, but I will probably use the whole package next time I make it. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
this dish was great the flavor was so good we had to make some miner chages because we coudn't find some stuff but still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
Awesome recipe!!! I used 2 of the smaller cans of the green enchilada sauce and also added 1 can of black beans as I omitted meat and I also used 1 can of corn instead of frozen. I cooked all ingredients in a crock pot and let cook for a few hours stirring occassionally. I broke up pcs of corn tortilla before serving. I served with sour cream and it was incredible. I also crushed up some tortilla chips and sprinkled in my bowl for some crunch. Will for sure make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelby Township, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
This was delicious! We all ate it up at my house. It was very spicy, probably because I added chiles. I didn't put any meat substitute in it. I also didn't rinse the beans. I think next time I will use 2 cans of beans. Also, I didn't have any bullion so I used one envelope of Lipton Savory Veggie Soup mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
Excellent! Toddler & baby just loved it! Great recipe -- thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APCOOKING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marmora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Tortilla Stew

Pinto beans and enchilada sauce star in this simple, meatless tortilla stew.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States