Vegetarian Tortilla Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 26, 2008
this dish was great the flavor was so good we had to make some miner chages because we coudn't find some stuff but still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
Awesome recipe!!! I used 2 of the smaller cans of the green enchilada sauce and also added 1 can of black beans as I omitted meat and I also used 1 can of corn instead of frozen. I cooked all ingredients in a crock pot and let cook for a few hours stirring occassionally. I broke up pcs of corn tortilla before serving. I served with sour cream and it was incredible. I also crushed up some tortilla chips and sprinkled in my bowl for some crunch. Will for sure make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelby Township, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
This was delicious! We all ate it up at my house. It was very spicy, probably because I added chiles. I didn't put any meat substitute in it. I also didn't rinse the beans. I think next time I will use 2 cans of beans. Also, I didn't have any bullion so I used one envelope of Lipton Savory Veggie Soup mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
Excellent! Toddler & baby just loved it! Great recipe -- thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APCOOKING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marmora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly, and it was delicious. Everyone enjoyed it. This is such a simple and fast dinner. And it tasted so good. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKOONUS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
I did not make a vegetarian version. I doubled the recipe for my family and used red enchilada sauce with the green enchilada sauce to make up the difference in what I had in my pantry. I used chicken broth instead of the vegetable bouillon and real chicken. I added a can of refried beans to help thicken it. Also, I did not put the tortillas in the stew. Instead, I fried tortilla strips in canola oil and we topped our stew with them to add a crunchy texture. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lobsteriffic
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
This was amazing! I couldn't find green enchilada sauce so I used some homemade red sauce I had in my freezer. I substituted black beans for the pinto beans, as I prefer them. I also used the entire can of diced tomatoes and doubled the chili powder. I used Yves Chick'n tenders for the meat substitute. I like my food spicy so I added some hot sauce and crushed red pepper to my bowl...I was sweating by the time I was done but man was it good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
I really enjoyed this. The night I made it though, I didn't think it was that good. It reminded me of a chain restuarants tortilla soup (not a compliment, lol!) Two days later, I heated the leftover for lunch, and I couldn't get enough!! It was so good. This recipe is almost too easy to make, too. I thought the tortillas in there would be wierd, but I liked them. I'll most likely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
This is a wonderful meal! I added some left over rice and garnished with diced avocados and shredded mozzarella cheese, along with the fried tortilla strips. DELISOUS! ~Courtney
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by courtney
Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
Very easy. I used 2 cups of vegetable broth and used black beans instead of corn. I also omitted the "chicken" strips. It tasted good the next day for lunch as well as fresh at dinner. I would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Tortilla Stew

Pinto beans and enchilada sauce star in this simple, meatless tortilla stew.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States