Vegetarian Tortilla Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
I had to use red enchilada sauce since I couldn't find the green. Added extra chili powder and cumin, and added a couple packets of cilanto-tomato sazon goya seasoning since I forgot to buy cilatro. Black beans instead of pinto, and crumbled tortilla chips. Restaurant quality right here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEINGRAMS4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2015
Very tasty as is (which is exceedingly rare on all recipes). The only things I did differently were based on either necessity or cost. First in my (Southern California) grocery stores there is no such thing as a 19 oz can of enchilada sauce, it's either 10oz or 28oz so I got the 28 as it was a better deal and adjusted the spices accordingly, meaning a bit more of everything and added the full can of tomatoes. The other change was that I used fresh corn as it was cheaper than frozen, and tasted significantly better for only a little extra effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fantastapotomus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Great recipe. Everyone loved it. Love how simple and fast it is the make. Thank you. My only changes that I made were minced garlic instead of garlic powder and I added some green onions when I added the cilantro. Topped it with shredded pepperjack and sour cream. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teresamckevitt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Very good. I served it over chips for the kids as that is how they like their tortilla soup. I din't use the vegetarian chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jasmine Couillard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
This turned out awesome!I added veggie ground beef crumbles because that is what i had in the freezer. I like how quickly this comes together too. Oh, and its even more fabulous the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
I made this, it was ok not that much flavor. I added 1/4 cup of onions, 1/2 cup of orange bell pepper, 1/4 tsp fajita seasoning, used Chipotle diced tomatoes and omitted the corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I used red enchilada sauce rather than green (since that is all I could find) and it turned out delicious. I usually have a hard time making soups, but this one turned out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosumcakes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
This is a family favorite, we all love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Awesome recipe! I made some small changes, including doubling up on the tomatoes and omitting the beans. I also added a pound of browned grass-fed ground beef with taco seasoning to fill it out because of surprise guests, but I'll totally be making this vegetarian for my no-meat weekdays This was a huge hit with my parents, my wife (twice), my friend, and my 2-year-old daughter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josh Wickham

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfield, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
This was delicious!!! Made a few alterations .... used red enchilada sauce instead of the green, added a can of black beans instead of meat substitute, added a whole can of diced tomatoes with chiles instaed of the half can suggested, and added tortilla chips and sour cream as a garnishment instead of the strips during cooking. It tasted like it was from a restaurant, amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Tortilla Stew

Pinto beans and enchilada sauce star in this simple, meatless tortilla stew.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States