Vegetarian Tortilla Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2005
I made this for a Friday night soup dinner during Lent. It was a hit! Not a drop left, and I was asked for the recipe by all who tried it. I followed recipe exactly adding only rosemary, oregano, a dash of hot sauce, and a half stick of butter. Delicious! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2006
I love this recipe and have made (and frozen) it several times. I use vegetarian chicken stock for a little more flavor and sauté up fresh bell peppers (usually 2 reds and one orange) along with onions, instead of using the frozen stir fry mix. I always top with chopped avocado, fresh cilantro and a squeeze of lime. It freezes so well and the flavor is even better reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2006
I added a can of black beans to this as one of the other reviewers suggested. I also have a picky 6 year old who does not like vegetables. When I saw how chunky it was I decided to try blending smooth. It was actually delicious that way and he had no clue that it was all veggies! My whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2005
i made this recipe for a going away party and it was a hit! I put blue corn chips in the bottom of the bowl, then ladled on the soup, then topped with grated cheddar cheese and sour cream. Delicious! Easy to prepare and easy to shop for! I will make this again.. probably next time frying up my own tortilla crisps since also are quite easy. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2005
this was great! my whole family loved it. we used guacamole tortilla chips and changed it from veggie to chicken broth. we also used fresh peppers and onions. so easy to make and we will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kita Murdock

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelburne, Vermont, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
This soup is excellent. I added black beans and sliced olives. Make sure to use the juice from the corn. I didnt use it all because I thought it would be to brothy, but it wasnt. This is a great soup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
This is one of those perfect recipes- You don't have to follow it exactly and you can do lots of different things with it- and it will still satisfy you and everyone who came over to eat Tortilla soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HELLODJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
We served this soup at our church's soup supper. Everyone loved it and asked for the recipe (always a good sign!). It was very easy to make, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
I think this soup is amazing. I made it a few days ago and have been having the leftovers for lunch and dinner since then!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2006
Wow! This is an excellent and very easy recipe. I'll definitely keep the ingredients on hand for this one! I did add a can of black beans for extra protien and some cayenne for an added kick. I tasted it before, though, and it was wonderful to begin with. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 479) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Tortilla Stew

Pinto beans and enchilada sauce star in this simple, meatless tortilla stew.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States