Vegetarian Tortilla Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
Okay, does no one else think that 3 cans of diced chile peppers makes this soup waaay too hot?!?! And I thought I liked my food spicy...apparently not! Other than that, we really like this recipe. My changes: cut down on cumin (to 2 tsps.), added the can of black beans for protein, drained the corn, used 3 8oz. boxes of veggie broth and 2 cups of water (makes it cheaper to make and you don't notice the difference!). We also added a squeeze of lemon juice at the end (didn't have any lime), but I will definitely add more lime juice (1/3 cup of fresh squeezed) next time along with less chile peppers! This has the potential to be a great recipe, though, so I gave it 4 stars. Loved using the frozen peppers/onions...didn't know that product existed until this recipe! PS--I made it again using the lime juice and it was great! Also, substituted 28 oz. can of petite diced tomatoes for the crushed ones and we liked that better, too. I think we have finally found our veggie tortilla soup recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
396 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
Love it! I used 2 T. of cumin, 2 cans of chopped green chiles, 2 14.5 oz. cans of diced tomatoes (one plain, one with sweet onion), a 32 oz. container of organic vegetable broth and 14 oz. of water with 2 vegetable bouillon cubes, one can of black beans, and about 1/4 of a bag of frozen Trader Joe's roasted corn. Everyone loved it and my husband had some at 10 pm because he couldn't get the taste out of his head. Great as is, but when you serve it with Chile Lime Tortilla Chips and the avocado and cheese, it takes it to a whole new level. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
209 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
(*UPDATED 11/26/11*: This is by far the best recipe I've ever made. It continues to be my most popular recipe and receives raves from all who try it, and is my standby for pot luck suppers and dinner parties. It is incredibly forgiving and always scrumptious!) I've been craving vegetarian tortilla soup for almost a year now....and I found it! The soup really is so simple and DELICIOUS! The cumin is key to the authentic tortilla soup flavor. I added some chopped fresh mushrooms (just because) at the last five minutes with the corn, and I added a rinsed & drained can of black beans as well. I also topped it with a healthy squeeze of lime and some chopped fresh cilantro before serving. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
185 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2006
I love this recipe and have made (and frozen) it several times. I use vegetarian chicken stock for a little more flavor and sauté up fresh bell peppers (usually 2 reds and one orange) along with onions, instead of using the frozen stir fry mix. I always top with chopped avocado, fresh cilantro and a squeeze of lime. It freezes so well and the flavor is even better reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
This was fantastic! A very forgiving and versatile recipe. I used fresh peppers and onions instead of frozen, and substituted frozen corn for canned, tomato sauce for the crushed tomatoes. I also added black beans and a little cayenne. I used an immersion blender to puree some of the soup, leaving a few chunks, and added about 1/4 cup of fresh lime juice at the end. Next time I may throw in some diced zucchini and tofu as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
We liked this soup alot. I do reccomend using less cumin though - we used half as much and it was plenty I think more might have blotted out the flavors of everything else. We also used only 1 can of peppers - 2 might have been ok but again I think three would have been too much. I like that this is a very quick meal and it tastes wonderful. Next time I'm going to try using pan toasted tortillas - instead of chips - to cut down on the salt and fat. Will also add black beans next time and maybe some chicken for the non-vegetarian in the household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
YUM! This soup is so good! I used fire roasted green chilies and added a can of black beans. I topped it with cheese, tortilla chips, avocado, green onions and a squeeze of lime. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canon City, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
This is one of those perfect recipes- You don't have to follow it exactly and you can do lots of different things with it- and it will still satisfy you and everyone who came over to eat Tortilla soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HELLODJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2005
I made this for a Friday night soup dinner during Lent. It was a hit! Not a drop left, and I was asked for the recipe by all who tried it. I followed recipe exactly adding only rosemary, oregano, a dash of hot sauce, and a half stick of butter. Delicious! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
The best vegetarian soup I have ever made we had no left overs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morgan Hill, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 466) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Tortilla Stew

Pinto beans and enchilada sauce star in this simple, meatless tortilla stew.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States