Vegetarian Tortilla Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2005
i made this recipe for a going away party and it was a hit! I put blue corn chips in the bottom of the bowl, then ladled on the soup, then topped with grated cheddar cheese and sour cream. Delicious! Easy to prepare and easy to shop for! I will make this again.. probably next time frying up my own tortilla crisps since also are quite easy. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2005
I liked the idea of this recipe, but it definitely needed some tweeking. Originally I was going to follow the recipe exactly as it was, but then decided to cut back on the cumin and add more garlic. I gave it a taste and it was pretty bland, so I added cilantro, paprika, chili powder, garlic powder and a few dashes of hot sauce. I also decided to add in some cooked spanish rice at the last minute. I ladeled it into bowls, stirred in sour cream and topped with cheddar cheese. I added broken up lime flavored tortilla chips as needed so they wouldn't get soggy. My boyfriend an I both thought the soup turned out great and will probably make it again. I would give the recipe 4 stars with the adjustments I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Plainfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2005
I made this for a Friday night soup dinner during Lent. It was a hit! Not a drop left, and I was asked for the recipe by all who tried it. I followed recipe exactly adding only rosemary, oregano, a dash of hot sauce, and a half stick of butter. Delicious! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2005
this was great! my whole family loved it. we used guacamole tortilla chips and changed it from veggie to chicken broth. we also used fresh peppers and onions. so easy to make and we will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelburne, Vermont, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
Thanks for this recipe. This turned out great! I too made a few modifications: used fresh vegetables, added a jalepeno, used extra garlic, added a pinch each of cayenne and paprika, and used jack cheese. I have never made this type of soup before and I was really impressed. The avocados make a perfect addition. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
This soup is excellent. I added black beans and sliced olives. Make sure to use the juice from the corn. I didnt use it all because I thought it would be to brothy, but it wasnt. This is a great soup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
i'd never been able to find a vegetarian tortilla soup recipe before - this was great! i was going to use fresh vegetables, but because peppers are so expensive right now, i used the frozen ones as in the recipe and it was still delicious! i added a jalapeno with the garlic and put fresh cilantro, sour cream, a little lime, and jack cheese on top in addition to the avacado. my husband and i both loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
This is one of those perfect recipes- You don't have to follow it exactly and you can do lots of different things with it- and it will still satisfy you and everyone who came over to eat Tortilla soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HELLODJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
The best vegetarian soup I have ever made we had no left overs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morgan Hill, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
Very nice. I added a bit of paprika and cayenne, like a previous reviewer. The only thing I wish I had done differently is to break apart the tortilla chips (or use tortilla strips) .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 455) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Tortilla Stew

Pinto beans and enchilada sauce star in this simple, meatless tortilla stew.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States