Vegetarian Tortilla Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
I love making this soup. It's easy. It's simple. Everyone I make it for loves it. I don't like cumin so I leave it out and it's still fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mdjperez
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I think this recipe was delicious. I did make some changes after reading other people's reviews. I added 2 cans of black beans, a tablespoon of chili powder and I used the petite diced tomatoes instead of crushed. I used 1 box of vegetable broth and added 3 cups of water and 1 1/2 vegetable bouillon cubes. I also only used 2 cans of chilis instead of 3 by suggestion of others because it would be too spicy. If you like spicy food, don't listen to these people. It was not spicy at ALL! Stick with 3 if you want some spice. But I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I really love this recipe! As most of the reviews state, it is very forgiving. I changed up quite a few things, mostly because I didn't have some of them. I added some stir fry veggies because I love them, less cumin, Ortega chilies, a little less vegetable broth, stuff like that. But this is really easy and very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Easy and very practical to cook even during the week, besides it's DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
So good! Loved this recipe. Only alteration I made was freshly squeezed lime juice at the end. And also an extra clove of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
absolutely love making this soup, it makes just the right amount, but is so much better with fresh veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chino, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
My husband and I are NOT vegetarians, but we still thought this was delicious. I used chicken broth instead of vegetable broth, because that was what I had on hand. I also reduced the green chiles to two cans, which was just right for us. Next time I would take others advice and add a can of black beans. Also, instead of corn chips, I think I would use corn tortillas, slice into quarters and baked until crispy, just to reduce the fat from the fried chips. I think I will also double this recipe and freeze half next time, just because it was that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
This was delicious and very easy to make. I used only 1 1/2 tbsp. of cumin, 1 can of green chiles, and only about half the corn. The corn change was unintentional. I thought I had more than I did. I used frozen, not canned corn, as I don't like canned corn. I added a can of rinsed and drained black beans. Served with toppings for each person to add as desired - sour cream, grated Monterey jack, chopped avocado and baked tortilla chips. I forgot the lime, but will be sure to add it for leftovers. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Delicious! I roasted fresh peppers in the oven. I used 2 cans of diced tomatoes (one with chiles) instead of crushed tomatoes. I added a bag of frozen corn and one can of rinsed black beans. I also added chopped cilantro (2 Tbs) and half of a lime. After cooking, I pureed half of the soup in a blender and then added it back to the remaining soup in the pot. This made the consistency of the soup perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 485) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Vegetarian Tortilla Stew

Pinto beans and enchilada sauce star in this simple, meatless tortilla stew.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States