Vegetarian Tortilla Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
One of the best soups that I have ever had. Literally!!!! It's delicious, satisfying and flavorful. Vegetarians and non veggies finally have something to savor together!!!! Try it and you won't be sorry! My way: I used one fresh chopped onion and one fresh chopped red bell pepper (I find it odd that I couldn't find the frozen mix in stores... but chopping these items myself made it more satisfying!) and I omitted cheese (I'm trying to stay away from dairy). I froze leftovers in individual portion containers (omitting the tortilla chips and avocado) to take to work and had many people asking for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
It can be fantastic especially without the frozen stirfry mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I thought this was okay. I didn't think it had enough oomph to it. I added a can of drained black beans. I did one can of green chiles (because we had a guest over who doesn't like overly spicy food) - but to compensate for my own serving, I added sliced jalapenos. The soup was made much better by the toppings (cheese, sour cream, avocados, jalapenos and cilantro), but I gave it three stars because I like my soup to be enhanced by toppings, but also able to be served on its own. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I added a few touches of my own-mainly all organic. Instead of 3 tbsp of cumin; I did 1.5tbsp cumin and 1.5tbsp chili powder. I added one can 14.5oz of diced tomatoes with no salt added and 14.5oz can of diced tomatoes with chile peppers. One can of diced jalapeños and one can of chile peppers. More veggie broth. 2 cans of corn. 1 can of pinto beans. 1 can of black beans. This was my first time making kit and if you like spice (to clear your sinuses), you'll love this! I topped it with guacamole and sour cream. Great vegetarian soup! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ShannonB515
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I made this recipe last night and absolutely loved it! My boyfriend was full but had seconds because he liked it so much! I altered the recipe only a little bit. I used fresh bell peppers and onions, 3 cloves of garlic (I love garlic!), I used a 42oz. box of vegetable broth and then added a vegetable bouillon cube and 2 cups of water, added 1 can of drained black beans, and we used a Mexican blend cheese mix. Easy recipe and plenty of leftovers for the 2 of us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I have made this several times now, and it is excellent every single time. I garnish with fresh cilantro and lime along with the cheese and tortilla chips. This is truly one of my favorite meals, and is incredibly easy to make. I am NOT a vegetarian nor am I vegan--this recipe is absolutely wonderful, and if you have a family member who needs to have a meat element, toss in some already-cooked chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
This was delicious! I halved this recipe because its way too much for just me and my husband and we still had leftovers. Served with tortilla chips and sour cream and it was super yummy! I would go easy on the cumin and green chiles unless you like a lot of spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
This is delicious. I made the following changes. I replaced the can green chiles w one poblano pepper ( roasted & diced). Added one small bag of sweet corn at the end when soup was done. Dash of mexican oregano. 2 cans of black beans rinsed. 1 whole dry ancho chile just threw it in. More garlic than it called for. Diced tomatoes ( Muir Glenn roasted tomatoes) instead of crushed. Cook until ancho chile starts to fall apart. Cooked for abt 45 minutes. Have made this several times. It's one of our favorites. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I made this soup for a group of eight. It was easy to make and was delicious. Everybody loved it. There was enough for everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
Very, very yummy!! I made it as directed and garnished with avacado, sour cream and shredded mexican blend cheese. Fast, easy, delicious, filling and healthy. This recipe is a home run!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 452) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Tortilla Stew

Pinto beans and enchilada sauce star in this simple, meatless tortilla stew.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States