Vegetarian Tortilla Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Easy and very practical to cook even during the week, besides it's DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
So good! Loved this recipe. Only alteration I made was freshly squeezed lime juice at the end. And also an extra clove of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
absolutely love making this soup, it makes just the right amount, but is so much better with fresh veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chino, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
My husband and I are NOT vegetarians, but we still thought this was delicious. I used chicken broth instead of vegetable broth, because that was what I had on hand. I also reduced the green chiles to two cans, which was just right for us. Next time I would take others advice and add a can of black beans. Also, instead of corn chips, I think I would use corn tortillas, slice into quarters and baked until crispy, just to reduce the fat from the fried chips. I think I will also double this recipe and freeze half next time, just because it was that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
This was delicious and very easy to make. I used only 1 1/2 tbsp. of cumin, 1 can of green chiles, and only about half the corn. The corn change was unintentional. I thought I had more than I did. I used frozen, not canned corn, as I don't like canned corn. I added a can of rinsed and drained black beans. Served with toppings for each person to add as desired - sour cream, grated Monterey jack, chopped avocado and baked tortilla chips. I forgot the lime, but will be sure to add it for leftovers. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Delicious! I roasted fresh peppers in the oven. I used 2 cans of diced tomatoes (one with chiles) instead of crushed tomatoes. I added a bag of frozen corn and one can of rinsed black beans. I also added chopped cilantro (2 Tbs) and half of a lime. After cooking, I pureed half of the soup in a blender and then added it back to the remaining soup in the pot. This made the consistency of the soup perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
The best ever! I use fresh pepper and onion instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
I got "mild" chilis. This was soooooo good & we didn't even have cheese! I bet it's even better with cheese & maybe sour cream (or plain--not vanilla--Greek yogurt)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cosmicfuzz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ann Marie Natal
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
At first I didn’t expect much from this recipe but it turned out to be amazing! It was a simple recipe, easy to prepare, and super flavorful. Unfortunately, I didn’t have the canned chopped green chili peppers so I substituted freshly diced jalapeño. This added a comforting warmness to the soup. The other thing I did differently is to use freshly cut peppers and onions as opposed to frozen. I decided to use freshly fried corn tortilla strips as garnish instead of topping them with the soup as the recipe suggested. This is because of a textural preference I have. I want to feel the crispiness of the tortilla instead of sogginess. Overall, this was a really good recipe. I recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Marie Natal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 452) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Tortilla Stew

Pinto beans and enchilada sauce star in this simple, meatless tortilla stew.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States