Vegetarian Tortilla Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
My family enjoyed it. I made as written only using fresh pepper and onion instead of frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eliza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
This recipe is great! I did make changes...I used all vegies called for fresh and not frozen or canned, threw in about a cup of fresh salsa, omitted corn and added a can of black beans. I also reduced cumin to two tablespoons. Instead of waiting until the end to garnish soup with tortilla chips, I added them at the begining of cooking as the chips will break down and thicken the soup. After ladeling my vegetarian portions out, I added some cooked cubed chicken for meat eating family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRACYMAXPIT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jackson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
This recipe was very simple and incredibly tasty! I held back on the amount of cumin as well as the amount of green chilis (our 13 year couldn't take the spice) and it turned out really well. I also added a spoonful of sour cream to each bowl to ease the spice. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
Very tasty but calls for a bit much cumin. I think I'll cut that by at least a 3rd next time. It did mellow over the few days I had it in the fridge, but the first serving was a bit YOWZA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Prunella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Ive made this sevral times, its soo yummy. its also real easy to make, i love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I made this over the weekend and it was great! I had fresh bell peppers and onions, so I used those. I only put in two cans of green chilies and two tbs of cumin and also added two cans of black beans. But I knew I needed to hide the peppers from my kids, so towards the end, before adding the corn and black beans, I scooped out the peppers and a bit of the soup and blended them in the blender with a handful or two of tortilla chips to thicken it a little. I stirred that back into the rest of the soup and everyone loved it! Thanks for the recipe and reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Very tasty veggie dish. Used a bag of caldo veggies to add a bit more substance and turned out wonderful. Also added a bit more cayenne for kick (but I really enjoy spicy food).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fantastapotomus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
Great recipe! Added drained black beans, used only 2 cans of chiles and served over brown rice topped with a squeeze of lime and quacamole and it is just like Qdoba's gumbo! Excellent and good protein for vegetarian's
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
While this soup was VERY good, it was incredibly spicy. We love very spicy food but this was over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by seattlemama

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Everyone in my family loved this. Even my cranky old gradma had to have seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hopeless2254

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 452) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Tortilla Stew

Pinto beans and enchilada sauce star in this simple, meatless tortilla stew.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States