Vegetarian Tortilla Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 25, 2012
This was a great recipe. Turned out so good. Will make it again. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
I have never eaten any version of Tortilla Soup. I made it tonight for my Mom, brother and future sis-in-law. The recipe makes 12 servings, but after all the second helpings, there were only a few small servings left. You have to try this! LOVED the recipe. Mom and I need protein in each meal so I did add rinsed black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Coxwell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaufort, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Yemassee, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
My wife raved about this soup! The cumin and garlic gave it excellent flavor. Next time, I will halve the recipe, this time we (3) had plenty of leftovers that just get better with more time for the flavors to meld.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lclaurie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cornish, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: King George, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
I had to make some changes to this as I didn't have all the ingredients but it came out sooo good. I used a whole fresh red pepper, one large onion and cooked them in the garlic. Added the cumin and some black pepper. Then I added 1 can crushed tomatoes, 1 can mexican seasoned tomatoes, 2 cans water with some bullion. I also added 4 dashes of Tapatilo, a can of black beans, and a can of kidney beans. Very easy to add on and make subsitutions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
My husband and I recently started to eat more vegetarian meals and after running accross this I thought I would give it a try. After loving chicken tortilla soup for years I was not too sure about this one. We loved it! I added black beans, only used 1 TBS of cumin and added a 1 TBS of Ancho Chili spice instead. I used it as a crock pot meal and was able to omit the oil. Also, we added fresh cilantro and lime in addition to the avacado at the end. Already making it for a second time tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
I thought it tasted like tomato soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
We thought this was delicious. I changed it a bit just because I can tell it could be salty, so my changes are as follows. 1 14 oz can of diced tomatos (no salt) 1 14 oz can of diced tomatoes with chilies 2 4 oz chopped green chile peppers 1 vegetable broth cube which is the equal to 2 cups of soup no added salt and pepper to taste-I wouldn't add salt and pepper until the soup is almost done anyway and we didn't need it. mexicali corn Black Beans rinsed Quorn chicken tenders (not vegan but vegetarian) We used Snyders tortilla chips because they are lower in fat and low fat cheese. It really was flavored perfectly this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by calead910

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
I added black beans and used rotel tomatoes which gave it a terrific flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
This soup was delicious. I made it very similar to the actual recipe, the only change I made was that I only added 12oz of the green chilis. Three giant cans was way too much, my stomach cannot handle too spicy of foods. It was very tastly, and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keysgetaway

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Key Largo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
Made this for dinner Lent for something new. Added black beans and used Rotel tomatoes. Very good and inexpensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 452) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Tortilla Stew

Pinto beans and enchilada sauce star in this simple, meatless tortilla stew.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States