Vegetarian Tortilla Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
Yippee, I get to eat tortilla soup again! Not many chicken dishes I still craved after I stopped eating meat few years ago, but I would fondly look at chicken tortilla soup on Mexican menus. Mmm. This veg version hits the spot! The 1st time I made it, I didn't realize I was almost out of cumin so I only added 1T, plus 1t of chili powder. Delicious but felt it could use a bit more kick. The next week I made another batch, and I added 2T cumin (since reviewers thought 3T too much) plus the chili powder. Too much cumin. Next time I'll stick to just 1T cumin and kick up the chili powder to 1T. Both times used 3 cans of green chilis. It adds good flavor but not too much heat (I like my spice "medium"). Also, I'm not usually a garnish girl but def add the squeeze of lime (fresh, not bottled if have it) and the chips. Think of them as ingredients, necessary to the flavor! I also added avocado and will start adding beans. As is recipe is 4 stars but with a few tweaks, I'll make it regularly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
I could not give this soup more stars.. Truly amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
I tweaked it to my tastes, but is a great start. Before my mods of adding heat, I could serve to my parents and other who aren't as wild for spicy. I made half batch, added can of black beans, used fire roasted diced tomatoes & processed them first and even added a little brown rice. Sprinkled red pepper flakes and cilantro before brought to boil because I like more heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stef Miller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
This recipe is awesome, quick and easy. I used frozen corn instead, fire roasted diced tomatoes and added black beans, chili powder, cayenne pepper and a little chicken this time since I'm sure my boyfriend gets sick of veggie food. It's great either way and very easy to tweak to your likings. The cheese, sour cream and avocado compliment the soup perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katiesaurus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaford, New York, USA
Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Great recipe. I stuck with the listed ingredients but couldn't find the frozen pepper and onion combo so I used fresh. I also put in 1 less can of chillies but added a fresh jalapeno, okra and black beans and that's just because I had them. Since I am a vegetarian I try and add protein wherever I can and this soup turned out fantastic. I absolutely loved it and will be making more. Thank you for the recipe, it is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Pretty good recipe! Next time for my family's tastes I will reduce the amount of cumin. I used fresh peppers & onions rather than frozen. I also left out the corn and added black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONESHOTCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
I really liked it. The only changes I made were adding a couple of shakes of chili powder as it was simmering, and adding a tbsp of lime juice at the end. Though I did like the convenience of the frozen peppers and onions, I think I might use fresh next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
I made this recipe as is and it was not good. This is the first time I can remember where I couldn't finish a bowl of soup I made from Allrecipes. Will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Liberty, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
My whole family loved this!!! Yum! Changes made: added black beans for protein
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 485) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Tortilla Stew

Pinto beans and enchilada sauce star in this simple, meatless tortilla stew.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States