Vegetarian Tortilla Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Loved it. Although I agree three cans of chiles would be too spicy for my taste so I used two cans of tomatoes with chiles already in them. Definitely add black beans to it to make it heartier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I used fresh red peppers and onion and a very small jalapeño pepper ... Excellente! Will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
I love this recipe. It works great in the crock pot as well. I did decrease the green chiles and used 2 cans and less cumin. I also used frozen corn and fresh peppers and onions. I add soaked black beans in the crock pot so they cook all day. It adds a bit of protein. I am vegan so no cheese but I love this! It is very popular with friends and family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Family of 6 (including a vegan) tore this up for dinner! I made the following changes due to what I had: 2 14 oz cans of diced tomatoes (vs large cann of crushed), 2 4 oz cans of chiles (vs 3), 1 tablespoon (vs 3) of cumin, 1 can of black beans & 1 can of corn (added them with the broth/stock), 1 32 oz vegetable stock & 1 32 oz of vegetable broth (only because that is what I had). We poured the soup over the tortilla chips and garnished with shredded Mexican-blend cheese, sour cream, avocadoes & hot sauce. My daughter used vegan equivalent for the cheeses & sour cream. Cilantro would have looked & tasted great, but I didn't have any. Perfecto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamatika

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Yum Yum Yummy! I didn't intend to make changes but my pantry wasn't as stocked as I thought. I used Mexican style Diced Tomatoes with Chiles since I was out of diced chiles. I used some frozen green pepper as my fresh green pepper was spoiled when I took it out of the vegetable bin. I used half of bag of frozen corn since I don't care for canned and last but not least, I used 2 TBS of Better than Bouillon Vegetable base instead of the Vegetable broth. Even with all the changes, this was fab-u-lous! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Absolutely DELICIOUS for both vegetarians and non! When I changed my diet to vegetarian, there were a few things I thought I'd miss and one of them is a chicken tortilla soup from this site. NOT anymore! In fact, this is BETTER than the 'other' soup! Don't skip the avocado - the creamy coolness of it in the hot soup is awesome! I too added black beans and made this with fresh onions. This was also very easy to adapt for the slowcooker - throw it all in and cook on low all day! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
I didn't find any vegetable stock in my local stores, so I made my own by boiling one stalk of celery with two carrots and any other fresh veggies I had in the frig, adding salt and pepper. It was amazing! Better than the Crock Pot Chicken Tortilla soup I had been making. I have also combined the recipes and again amazing! To accommodate my friends who are Vegan I simply cooked the chicken separately in some enchilada sauce and added it to individual bowls. It's so easy to make and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
It was fantastic!! I only used two cans of the green chilies, and used fresh peppers and onions instead of frozen. I also added a can of hominy to make the soup a little heartier! It was absolutely delicious!!! Definitely will be making it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Remember to pour the soup over the top of the tortilla chips - YUM! We served with a dollop of non-fat Greek yogurt to add a bit of protein as well as a creamy consistency. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Good vegetable soup, don't need the tortillas and cheese if you don't have
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 462) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Vegetarian Tortilla Stew

Pinto beans and enchilada sauce star in this simple, meatless tortilla stew.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States