Vegetarian Tortilla Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chino, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
My husband and I are NOT vegetarians, but we still thought this was delicious. I used chicken broth instead of vegetable broth, because that was what I had on hand. I also reduced the green chiles to two cans, which was just right for us. Next time I would take others advice and add a can of black beans. Also, instead of corn chips, I think I would use corn tortillas, slice into quarters and baked until crispy, just to reduce the fat from the fried chips. I think I will also double this recipe and freeze half next time, just because it was that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
This was delicious and very easy to make. I used only 1 1/2 tbsp. of cumin, 1 can of green chiles, and only about half the corn. The corn change was unintentional. I thought I had more than I did. I used frozen, not canned corn, as I don't like canned corn. I added a can of rinsed and drained black beans. Served with toppings for each person to add as desired - sour cream, grated Monterey jack, chopped avocado and baked tortilla chips. I forgot the lime, but will be sure to add it for leftovers. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Delicious! I roasted fresh peppers in the oven. I used 2 cans of diced tomatoes (one with chiles) instead of crushed tomatoes. I added a bag of frozen corn and one can of rinsed black beans. I also added chopped cilantro (2 Tbs) and half of a lime. After cooking, I pureed half of the soup in a blender and then added it back to the remaining soup in the pot. This made the consistency of the soup perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
The best ever! I use fresh pepper and onion instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
I got "mild" chilis. This was soooooo good & we didn't even have cheese! I bet it's even better with cheese & maybe sour cream (or plain--not vanilla--Greek yogurt)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cosmicfuzz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ann Marie Natal
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
At first I didn’t expect much from this recipe but it turned out to be amazing! It was a simple recipe, easy to prepare, and super flavorful. Unfortunately, I didn’t have the canned chopped green chili peppers so I substituted freshly diced jalapeño. This added a comforting warmness to the soup. The other thing I did differently is to use freshly cut peppers and onions as opposed to frozen. I decided to use freshly fried corn tortilla strips as garnish instead of topping them with the soup as the recipe suggested. This is because of a textural preference I have. I want to feel the crispiness of the tortilla instead of sogginess. Overall, this was a really good recipe. I recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Marie Natal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
One of the best soups that I have ever had. Literally!!!! It's delicious, satisfying and flavorful. Vegetarians and non veggies finally have something to savor together!!!! Try it and you won't be sorry! My way: I used one fresh chopped onion and one fresh chopped red bell pepper (I find it odd that I couldn't find the frozen mix in stores... but chopping these items myself made it more satisfying!) and I omitted cheese (I'm trying to stay away from dairy). I froze leftovers in individual portion containers (omitting the tortilla chips and avocado) to take to work and had many people asking for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
It can be fantastic especially without the frozen stirfry mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I thought this was okay. I didn't think it had enough oomph to it. I added a can of drained black beans. I did one can of green chiles (because we had a guest over who doesn't like overly spicy food) - but to compensate for my own serving, I added sliced jalapenos. The soup was made much better by the toppings (cheese, sour cream, avocados, jalapenos and cilantro), but I gave it three stars because I like my soup to be enhanced by toppings, but also able to be served on its own. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 469) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Tortilla Stew

Pinto beans and enchilada sauce star in this simple, meatless tortilla stew.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States