Vegetarian Tortilla Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
This was delicious and very easy to make. I used only 1 1/2 tbsp. of cumin, 1 can of green chiles, and only about half the corn. The corn change was unintentional. I thought I had more than I did. I used frozen, not canned corn, as I don't like canned corn. I added a can of rinsed and drained black beans. Served with toppings for each person to add as desired - sour cream, grated Monterey jack, chopped avocado and baked tortilla chips. I forgot the lime, but will be sure to add it for leftovers. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Delicious! I roasted fresh peppers in the oven. I used 2 cans of diced tomatoes (one with chiles) instead of crushed tomatoes. I added a bag of frozen corn and one can of rinsed black beans. I also added chopped cilantro (2 Tbs) and half of a lime. After cooking, I pureed half of the soup in a blender and then added it back to the remaining soup in the pot. This made the consistency of the soup perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
The best ever! I use fresh pepper and onion instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
I got "mild" chilis. This was soooooo good & we didn't even have cheese! I bet it's even better with cheese & maybe sour cream (or plain--not vanilla--Greek yogurt)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cosmicfuzz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ann Marie Natal
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
At first I didn’t expect much from this recipe but it turned out to be amazing! It was a simple recipe, easy to prepare, and super flavorful. Unfortunately, I didn’t have the canned chopped green chili peppers so I substituted freshly diced jalapeño. This added a comforting warmness to the soup. The other thing I did differently is to use freshly cut peppers and onions as opposed to frozen. I decided to use freshly fried corn tortilla strips as garnish instead of topping them with the soup as the recipe suggested. This is because of a textural preference I have. I want to feel the crispiness of the tortilla instead of sogginess. Overall, this was a really good recipe. I recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Marie Natal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
One of the best soups that I have ever had. Literally!!!! It's delicious, satisfying and flavorful. Vegetarians and non veggies finally have something to savor together!!!! Try it and you won't be sorry! My way: I used one fresh chopped onion and one fresh chopped red bell pepper (I find it odd that I couldn't find the frozen mix in stores... but chopping these items myself made it more satisfying!) and I omitted cheese (I'm trying to stay away from dairy). I froze leftovers in individual portion containers (omitting the tortilla chips and avocado) to take to work and had many people asking for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
It can be fantastic especially without the frozen stirfry mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I thought this was okay. I didn't think it had enough oomph to it. I added a can of drained black beans. I did one can of green chiles (because we had a guest over who doesn't like overly spicy food) - but to compensate for my own serving, I added sliced jalapenos. The soup was made much better by the toppings (cheese, sour cream, avocados, jalapenos and cilantro), but I gave it three stars because I like my soup to be enhanced by toppings, but also able to be served on its own. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I added a few touches of my own-mainly all organic. Instead of 3 tbsp of cumin; I did 1.5tbsp cumin and 1.5tbsp chili powder. I added one can 14.5oz of diced tomatoes with no salt added and 14.5oz can of diced tomatoes with chile peppers. One can of diced jalapeños and one can of chile peppers. More veggie broth. 2 cans of corn. 1 can of pinto beans. 1 can of black beans. This was my first time making kit and if you like spice (to clear your sinuses), you'll love this! I topped it with guacamole and sour cream. Great vegetarian soup! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ShannonB515
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I made this recipe last night and absolutely loved it! My boyfriend was full but had seconds because he liked it so much! I altered the recipe only a little bit. I used fresh bell peppers and onions, 3 cloves of garlic (I love garlic!), I used a 42oz. box of vegetable broth and then added a vegetable bouillon cube and 2 cups of water, added 1 can of drained black beans, and we used a Mexican blend cheese mix. Easy recipe and plenty of leftovers for the 2 of us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 457) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Tortilla Stew

Pinto beans and enchilada sauce star in this simple, meatless tortilla stew.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States