Vegetarian Tortilla Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
I made this recipe as is and it was not good. This is the first time I can remember where I couldn't finish a bowl of soup I made from Allrecipes. Will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Liberty, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
My whole family loved this!!! Yum! Changes made: added black beans for protein
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
This recipe was a great starting point for tortilla soup. I followed the advice of previous reviewers and used 2 cans diced tomatoes (one was mexican style fire roasted and one regular) instead of crushed tomato and used only about 16 oz of vegetable broth, as we prefer thicker soups. Since I reduced my overall volume, I added only 8 oz of green chiles but threw in about 1-1.5 tsp of fresh diced jalapeno. I also added about half a can of black beans and only 1 tbsp or so of cumin. There was plenty of delicious flavors, and we topped each bowl with some shredded cheese, tortilla chips, and avocado. My non-vegetarian husband said it was the best tortilla soup he's ever had! This recipe it definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
this soup was a hit with our guests and kids. followed reviewers' recommendations and reduced recipe to 2 cans green chiles and 2 tbsp cumin. added two cans black beans for some heft, and used fresh peppers and onion. i will add the cumin and chiles back in for my next batch because we all ended up adding tobasco to spice things up. used two boxes veggie broth which resulted in a bit more liquid, but it was tasty. served some shredded chicken breast on the side for my meat-eaters to add, and they said that worked out fine. on the whole it was easy to make and fun to eat and we'll be having this again soon! thanks for the awesome recipe and all the helpful advice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I love this soup! I added beans for extra fibre.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Loved it. Although I agree three cans of chiles would be too spicy for my taste so I used two cans of tomatoes with chiles already in them. Definitely add black beans to it to make it heartier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I used fresh red peppers and onion and a very small jalapeño pepper ... Excellente! Will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
I love this recipe. It works great in the crock pot as well. I did decrease the green chiles and used 2 cans and less cumin. I also used frozen corn and fresh peppers and onions. I add soaked black beans in the crock pot so they cook all day. It adds a bit of protein. I am vegan so no cheese but I love this! It is very popular with friends and family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Family of 6 (including a vegan) tore this up for dinner! I made the following changes due to what I had: 2 14 oz cans of diced tomatoes (vs large cann of crushed), 2 4 oz cans of chiles (vs 3), 1 tablespoon (vs 3) of cumin, 1 can of black beans & 1 can of corn (added them with the broth/stock), 1 32 oz vegetable stock & 1 32 oz of vegetable broth (only because that is what I had). We poured the soup over the tortilla chips and garnished with shredded Mexican-blend cheese, sour cream, avocadoes & hot sauce. My daughter used vegan equivalent for the cheeses & sour cream. Cilantro would have looked & tasted great, but I didn't have any. Perfecto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamatika

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Yum Yum Yummy! I didn't intend to make changes but my pantry wasn't as stocked as I thought. I used Mexican style Diced Tomatoes with Chiles since I was out of diced chiles. I used some frozen green pepper as my fresh green pepper was spoiled when I took it out of the vegetable bin. I used half of bag of frozen corn since I don't care for canned and last but not least, I used 2 TBS of Better than Bouillon Vegetable base instead of the Vegetable broth. Even with all the changes, this was fab-u-lous! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 487) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Tortilla Stew

Pinto beans and enchilada sauce star in this simple, meatless tortilla stew.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States