Vegetarian Tortilla Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
This recipe is awesome, quick and easy. I used frozen corn instead, fire roasted diced tomatoes and added black beans, chili powder, cayenne pepper and a little chicken this time since I'm sure my boyfriend gets sick of veggie food. It's great either way and very easy to tweak to your likings. The cheese, sour cream and avocado compliment the soup perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katiesaurus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaford, New York, USA
Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Great recipe. I stuck with the listed ingredients but couldn't find the frozen pepper and onion combo so I used fresh. I also put in 1 less can of chillies but added a fresh jalapeno, okra and black beans and that's just because I had them. Since I am a vegetarian I try and add protein wherever I can and this soup turned out fantastic. I absolutely loved it and will be making more. Thank you for the recipe, it is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Pretty good recipe! Next time for my family's tastes I will reduce the amount of cumin. I used fresh peppers & onions rather than frozen. I also left out the corn and added black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONESHOTCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
I really liked it. The only changes I made were adding a couple of shakes of chili powder as it was simmering, and adding a tbsp of lime juice at the end. Though I did like the convenience of the frozen peppers and onions, I think I might use fresh next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
I made this recipe as is and it was not good. This is the first time I can remember where I couldn't finish a bowl of soup I made from Allrecipes. Will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Liberty, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
My whole family loved this!!! Yum! Changes made: added black beans for protein
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
This recipe was a great starting point for tortilla soup. I followed the advice of previous reviewers and used 2 cans diced tomatoes (one was mexican style fire roasted and one regular) instead of crushed tomato and used only about 16 oz of vegetable broth, as we prefer thicker soups. Since I reduced my overall volume, I added only 8 oz of green chiles but threw in about 1-1.5 tsp of fresh diced jalapeno. I also added about half a can of black beans and only 1 tbsp or so of cumin. There was plenty of delicious flavors, and we topped each bowl with some shredded cheese, tortilla chips, and avocado. My non-vegetarian husband said it was the best tortilla soup he's ever had! This recipe it definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
this soup was a hit with our guests and kids. followed reviewers' recommendations and reduced recipe to 2 cans green chiles and 2 tbsp cumin. added two cans black beans for some heft, and used fresh peppers and onion. i will add the cumin and chiles back in for my next batch because we all ended up adding tobasco to spice things up. used two boxes veggie broth which resulted in a bit more liquid, but it was tasty. served some shredded chicken breast on the side for my meat-eaters to add, and they said that worked out fine. on the whole it was easy to make and fun to eat and we'll be having this again soon! thanks for the awesome recipe and all the helpful advice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I love this soup! I added beans for extra fibre.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 452) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Tortilla Stew

Pinto beans and enchilada sauce star in this simple, meatless tortilla stew.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States