Vegetarian Sweet and Sour Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Thank you...now I have a recipe to use when my family is craving "meat"! I didn't read all the reviews, but I agree that the breadcrumb amount needs to be cut, but I'll also increase the amount of nuts I use. I used walnuts instead of pecans (good source of omega 3's since we don't eat any meat) and left some chunky to give the meatballs a contrasting crunch. This recipe will go well with any sauce you decide to use with it. Everyone enjoyed it, and I'm glad that we can have meatballs/meatloaf without having to use vegetarian mince. Just a bit of advice to any new veggies out there....the only way these are vegetarian is if you use vegetarian cheddar cheese. (Cheese is made using rennet which comes from a calf's stomach). Cottage cheese is always vegetarian. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hatboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
This is a totally awesome recipe. I made the mistake of letting the mixture set before I made the balls. It still worked but was more difficult. I also used a 9 X 9 pan. It was much more efficient than the 9 X 13. I made it for my mom and a couple of her non vegetarian friends tasted them. Everyone thought they were delicious. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phantomcrz
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
The 5 stars are for the acutal meet balls.. then sauce was good... but had a very strong taste which only comlimented the meat balls if there was a small layer, just basically brushed with the sauce, otherwise it was overpowering. Will def make these meat balls again, and perhaps a meat loaf! They do look taste and have the texture of meat... closest I have had to real meat since becoming a vegetarian
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
I should have listened to the reviews that said to only use 1 cup of bread crumbs; I made the recipe as stated, and it tasted like mediocre stuffing. I also agree that the seasonings in the meatballs and the sauce compete too much, and I think the cheddar cheese should be upped to 1 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I covered these with 2 cans of tomato sauce instead of the sweet and sour and baked them for the same amount of time to use in vegetarian spaghetti and meatballs! It was perfect! They also freeze great. I just thawed out the leftovers from that meal and threw them into my vegetarian chili and mashed them up. Great recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Great recipe! I used tomato paste instead of ketchup (much healthier). To avoid hard meatballs, don't squeeze them too tight. My last bit of advice is to buy pecan meal from the bulk food store in order to get the pecans the right consistency. It's only available at Christmas time, so buy a bunch and store it in the freezer so it doesn't go rancid. Thanks for a great recipe KIMCA!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anita KJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
I knew right off that I couldn't stomach all that fat, so yes, I did alter. My rating is based on the recipe, with changes. Used more onion, added cumin because I like it-a lot! Made a "hot" sweet and sour sauce, adding anaheim chili pepper and seeds. I used only 3 eggs, and 2 Tbsps powdered milk mixed with 2 Tbsps water for the 4th egg. I used 1/3 less fat monteray jack cheese, and light cottage cheese. Lastly, I substituted about 1/2 cup soy granuals for 1 cup of the breadcrumbs. I think I added a little water also, but check consistency and texture first. The balls should be somewhat firmer/denser than meat-type meatballs, but they should still be moist enough to yield under moderate thumb pressure. The balls will lose much of their density/firmness as the fat is cooked off into the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Parran

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I can't believe how good these tasted!! I used fat free cottage cheese and only 1 cup of store bought bread crumbs. (1/2 c. garlic & herb, 1/2 cup plain). My husband loved these too. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECKY M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmer, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Longmeadow, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I haven't made the sauce yet, but the meatballs themselves are incredible. If I hadn't made them myself I wouldn't have believed they were vegetarian. My husband has been missing meatballs from our meat-eating days, but these should fix the problem. THANK YOU for such a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jaylex85
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
These were pretty good, I only used 1 cup of bread crumbs but I think 1 1/2 might be better. Also I didn't crush the nuts to finely which gave them a weird texture but still good. next time I know better. I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaylex85

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buckeye, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Sweet and Hot Mustard Wings

Sweet and hot mustards make these a tasty alternative to regular wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States