Vegetarian Sweet and Sour Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
Was very excited to try these, but did not care for them. The sage just does not seem to belong. Also with all the italian seasonings, a spaghetti type sauce would be better suited. The texture of the meatballs was great, but would not make again with the sweet and sour sauce which was only okay. Overall too many competing flavors that didn't blend well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
Oh... these are great! I'll certainly be making them again with and without the sauce. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
I made these for my vegetarian daughter last night and she and I both absolutely loved them. She was surprised as she hates pecans. She said she couldn't tell they were in there. The sauce is wonderful and we made sure we got every drop out of the pan when we stored the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
I wanted to try this so bad after reading the reviews, but I didn't have time to get all the ingredients. I subbed the cottage cheese with feta cheese, replaced real eggs with Egg Beaters, and omitted the salt. I grated the onion so I wouldn't have chunks, and I crushed chopped pecans with my rolling pin (no food processor). I used a standard 1 Tbs cookie scoop and yielded 28 meatballs exactly. I baked for 30 minutes with a mist of olive oil (no sauce), and I'm glad I didn't bake longer - once out of the oven the meatballs continued to cook some and became the perfect texture for me. Next time I'll sneak in shredded carrots/zucchini for a veggie boost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
This recipe gets five stars for the meatballs alone. So far, I have made this recipe twice & used it solely for the meatballs, not the sweet & sour sauce. The first time I made it I baked them in a marinara sauce instead for spaghetti. They were absolutely delicious! This last time I got a little "crazier". I only had ricotta handy and some deli slices of white cheddar. The food processor fixed my cheese issue (actually, I think I used too much because I paid less attention) and the ricotta actually worked really well also. I decided to try baking them with no sauce. I sprayed the baking dish really well with cooking spray and covered them with foil to keep from drying out. They turned out perfect and tasted awesome without any sauce at all. I think my favorite use for them was "Swedish Meatball" style with some leftover gravy that I had in my fridge & thrown over egg noodles! This recipe is a major keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAGDYANN422

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2009
everyone loved it, meat-eatters too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
This is a keeper recipe! I was very skeptical about it...I even made another dish on the side incase it was not edible because I was scared there was not going to be any dinner. But everyone in my house loved it. My son who does not like meatballs wanted more and more. My mom stopped in during dinner and she hates vegetarian foods she liked them with the pecans...this will be in the front of my recipes for a long time as it's something the whole family enjoyed meat eaters and vegetarians alike.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Iron River, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Definitely a keeper! The 'meat' balls are very flavorable ....... ummmmmm!! If I could I'd give recipe 8 stars, even though I purposely left some ingredients out. No Italian seasoned bread crumbs, so used Gourment Round Croutons - Parmesan Cheese and Garlic Flavor. No apricot jam for the Sweet and Sour Sauce so used peach preserves. Left out the minced onion, oregano, and hot pepper sauce - too many spices. Even with the changes/omissions, the taste is GREAT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The King's kid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
I have these meatballs in the oven right now - they smell so good! I tasted the meatball and sauce mixtures as I was making them, and they are excellent. I followed the recipe exactly. I'm really excited about the other potential uses for a recipe like this...perhaps as a starting point for meatloaf or homemade veggie burgers?! I also think these meatballs would be the perfect party food made ahead and kept warm in a crockpot with sauce - either sweet and sour or Italian tomato sauce. They were easy to assemble, too. I think next time I will make a triple batch and freeze them for quick suppers, just like the frozen meatballs from the grocery store, only sooooo much better. My three-year old says we should eat them all before daddy comes home, LOL!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
I made this recipe for my daughter's birthday party (mostly carnivores were there) and no one noticed they didn't contain meat!!!! I had one guest ask me for the recipe and when I gave it to her she was shocked to see there is no meat in them! I used apricot pineapple jam for the sauce and added a little more onion than recommended. I have found a family favorite, thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MyasMommy

Displaying results 81-90 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Sweet and Hot Mustard Wings

Sweet and hot mustards make these a tasty alternative to regular wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States