Vegetarian Sweet and Sour Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
These were very yummy. I had to replace some pecans with walnuts, and I used peach jam instead of apricot. Even my meat eating bf was impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I'm not a vegetarian but I live with my boyfriend who is. We like to cook together and are always looking for meals that will satisfy us both. These were AMAZING. I used finely chopped walnuts instead of pecans, because they struck me as a "meatier" nut. I also got creative with the sauce, tuning the ratios to our tastes and adding some leftover tomato sauce. They turned out great and made delicious leftovers over spaghetti the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I make this every year for my Italian family for Christmas dinner; a winner every time! I sometimes substitute walnuts (when I can't find pecans) and instead of the sweet/sour sauce I use two cans of cream of tomato soup with a bit of extra water added. Delicious, particularly if you kick up the basil and add a bit of rosemary and oregano. Make sure you don't go too light on the salt - easy to underdo and can make them rather bland. Better the next day... if they last!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I didnt think this sounded good based on the ingredients, but the reviews were great, so I thought I would try it. This is the best food EVER! Great comfort food! I replace the cottage cheese w/ tofu. It makes the mixture less bumpy and less sticky when forming the balls. I also use basil instead of orgeno. GREAT RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I have a few vegetarian friends and I made this for one of their birthday parties. Even the non vegetarians didn't realize that these weren't made with meat. My vegetarian friends have since asked me to make these several times. Great recipe. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I only made the meatball part and then used spaghetti sauce on top. Yum! These are delicious. My skeptical husband even loved them. My 10 and 8 year liked them too. This recipe is a keeper. I can't wait to try different sauces!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
These are fantastic! Even my boyfriend, who doesn't care for most 'fake meat' meals, loves them. I used parsley instead of sage because its what I had on hand, but other than that I always stick to the recipe and they always turn out great! Good sauce to meat ratio as well. They are good on their own, or on a crusty hoagie roll for a filling meatball sandwich. My new favorite recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennafir

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
These were incredible! I followed some of the suggestions and made some of my own adjustments and it turned out incredible! First, I decided I wanted to make meatball subs - amazing combination. In making them I added 1/2 cup shredded carrot, 2 shredded cloves of garlic, substituted very finely chopped walnuts instead of the pecans, and made my own breadcrumbs by toasting my bread and spraying olive oil on it and seasoning with oregano and rosemary. The only other adjustment was not intentional - I forgot to add the seasoning in the meatballs, so I just added it to the sauce minus the sage. To prevent having soggy meatballs, which my husband hates, I formed the balls, placed onto a greased pan, and cooked in the oven for 20 minutes or so or until lightly browned and they could hold their shape. I then added the sauce and cooked for the full 40 minutes. DELICIOUS!! MAKE THIS DISH!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I made this last night and it turned out great. I made a few modifications. In the “meatballs” I used Ezekiel bread for the crumbs instead of Italian bread crumbs. I added Italian seasoning, and left out the sage. I made more sauce than called for because I wanted to serve it over noodles. I used tomato sauce instead of ketchup, apple cider vinegar instead of white. Added a little brown sugar, garlic powder, and Worcestershire sauce. After 40 minutes of baking, I used the sauce in the pan to baste the meatballs and baked 10 more minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Every person who eats these loves them. Carnivores and vegetarians alike.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Sweet and Hot Mustard Wings

Sweet and hot mustards make these a tasty alternative to regular wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States