Vegetarian Sweet and Sour Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
I always make these, they are so tasty! However, over the years I made some changes that I found greatly improved the dish as a whole. I add Mr. Dash or Montreal style spice mix to the meatballs to improve the favour. Then I make a different sauce with ketchup (1 cup), vinegar (1/4 cup), Worchester sauce (3 tbsp) and brown sugar (1 cup). I cook the meatballs halfway alone in the oven, then add the sweet and sour sauce to let it thicken while the meatballs finish cooking. This is a huge success at every pot luck I attend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
I made these without the sweet and sour sauce, and used them with regular spaghetti sauce. If you use italian bread crumbs, I wouldn't add the salt. These were a bit too salty for me, but they freeze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AshleyBolling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Branson, Missouri, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
These were a hit with my family, and we are not vegetarians. I used pecan "meal" because I wasn't sure the texture would go over well otherwise. Glad I did; I will do that from now on. I liked the sweet n sour but I think I prefer it to be more savory. Will simply bake and add to spaghetti sauce next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Pretty Good. I only made the "meatball" portion and cooked them in a different sauce. I liked them but my kids only picked at them. Thanks for the ideas, if I take anything away from this....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
These vege meatballs are spectacular. I had them with pasta and a spicy tomato sauce and loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Did make the 'meatballs', but the sauce was great and super easy with ingredients most have in the pantry or frig! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Thank you for a great recipe! I fixed this for my husband and two boys, all of whom are unabashed carnivores and none of whom will touch cottage cheese. Second helpings were had even after seeing the ingredients list. I did substitute one sleeve of crush Ritz crackers plus a teaspoon of Italian seasoning in place of the breadcrumbs because that's what I had on hand. I patted it into a silicone loaf pan rather than making meatballs and brushed the top with the sauce. End result was wonderful. Sauce was a little sweet so I will try swapping tomato sauce for the ketchup next time and halve the sauce recipe. We had close about 3/4 cup left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
These were very yummy. I had to replace some pecans with walnuts, and I used peach jam instead of apricot. Even my meat eating bf was impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I'm not a vegetarian but I live with my boyfriend who is. We like to cook together and are always looking for meals that will satisfy us both. These were AMAZING. I used finely chopped walnuts instead of pecans, because they struck me as a "meatier" nut. I also got creative with the sauce, tuning the ratios to our tastes and adding some leftover tomato sauce. They turned out great and made delicious leftovers over spaghetti the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I make this every year for my Italian family for Christmas dinner; a winner every time! I sometimes substitute walnuts (when I can't find pecans) and instead of the sweet/sour sauce I use two cans of cream of tomato soup with a bit of extra water added. Delicious, particularly if you kick up the basil and add a bit of rosemary and oregano. Make sure you don't go too light on the salt - easy to underdo and can make them rather bland. Better the next day... if they last!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Sweet and Hot Mustard Wings

Sweet and hot mustards make these a tasty alternative to regular wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States