Vegetarian Sweet and Sour Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
This recipe was awesome, save for one thing... Texture. It was a little too compact. If there were a way to give them more of a 'loose', textured taste, I'd love to know. Compliments to the recipe maker, though, especially because there's no soy involved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
WOW!! These were AMAZING!!! I made them exactly as it was written. I almost thought that it wouldn't be enough sauce but it was. I will make these again and again and again. Who would have thought to put cottage cheese in a meatball? I threw these in the cast iron skillet for about 35 minutes. Perfection. This recipe is definitely going into my menu rotation. THANK YOU!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
These are amazing! The first time I made them I followed the recipe, but now I use them to finish up veggies, beans, nuts, cheeses, or other leftover foods. I'm convinced that you can't mess these up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
These are ok. The sauce tastes a lot like McDonald's sweet and sour except that there is a strong vinegar and ketchup flavor. Not exactly what I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
These are delicious! I didn't have pecans, so I used sliced almonds that I pureed in my mini processor. I also ran out of bread crumbs so I subbed in seafood breader and I used hard italian cheese and mozzarella in lieu of the the shredded cheddar. It was delicious! The sauce is savory/sweet and smells heavenly. These would be great with egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
EXCELLENT! I think that the key ingredient is abricot jam. It makes sauce more like a fruity ketchup than an asian sauce... so it come along well with the meatball ingredients. The only thing, I found the sauce a bit too sweet. So next time I will put less jam. Thanks for sharing this amazing recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
These are wonderful! I made them for my grandsons and they loved them too - even the "pickey" eater! I used low fat and fat-free cheeses and it was fine. I didn't have sage, substituted marjoram for oregano. Next time I will try wheat germ or WW bread crumbs if I can find them, or one cup of Italian crumbs as another reviewer suggested. I think these meatless balls would also work well baked in tomato sauce and over pasta, or any sauce and base combo. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
These were a hit in our house with a meat-eater who said they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Bieszk Rogers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
I doubled the'veggie meatballs' (used 2 cups bread crumbs) Beacuse of the reviews. They are great 5+ stars; However the sweet & sour sauce was just okay. Out of 6 people only 2 liked it. I was sure glad I didn't cover them all with the sauce. The sauce needs something- might try adding a little brown sugar & Soy sauce. I will make dipping sauces next time and let everyone play around and find the right combo for themselves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte Chaffin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
These are very good. You would not immediately know they don't have any meat in them. I halved the recipe for the balls and the sauce, and it made 15 appetizer sized balls and plenty of sauce to bake them in a little of it and toss them around in it after they were cooked. I followed the recipe exactly, but I did add some more spices ... black pepper, salt and garlic powder. My advice would be to grind up the nuts as fine as you can and mince the onion. I used Italian bread crumbs and did not find any issues with hardness or dryness. Do not hard pack the balls, just loosely roll them into balls with only enough pressure to hold them together. I will make these again, even meat eaters would like these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Cee

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Sweet and Hot Mustard Wings

Sweet and hot mustards make these a tasty alternative to regular wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States