Vegetarian Sweet and Sour Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Photo by P.Smith
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
These are so delicious, and so easy to make. I followed the recipe to a tee other than reducing the ketchup to 3/4 cup (as others suggested), and omitting the sage (seemed out of place). I served them to my 83 year old dad, and he never knew they were meatless! Next time I will double the sauce and serve them over rice. Five stars and highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by P.Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
This was really good! I am not a huge fan of sweet and sour sauce but I will totally try these with a marinara sauce next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
I loved this recipe. I made it for a 4th of July picnic and got rave reviews. I added more bread crumbs until you could shape into meatballs. Don't make them too big since they swell during the cooking period. I will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
This will be a nice treat when my family just wants a snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosella

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
This is a recipe I have made tons of time. It is also good with a tomato (marinara) sauce. I have also made them into "sausage rolls" using the meatball mixture rolled in puff or filo pastry, just add some grated carrot or butternut squash. It will make a pretty good burger as well. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flowerdalejewel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
I absolutely love these. They're great. Last time I made them, I didn't realize I was out of chopped pecans until it was too late to turn back, so I ended up using chopped (and smashed) almonds instead. And they were still good. I defenitely recommend these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: May 19, 2008
The first time I made them I followed the recipe the way it is. But as I was adding the ingredients, I realized how much sodium and fat would be in it. The texture turned out way too hard and all you could taste was bread crumbs, I think that 2 cups of bread crumbs is too much. However, I still had a feeling this recipe could be good, so today I made several changes: 1 whole egg + 2 egg whites, fat free cottage cheese, 1/4 cup of 2% cheddar + 1/2 cup parmesan, 2 minced garlic cloves, onion, spices and 1 cup of bread crumbs. For the sauce: I reduced apricot jam to 1/3 cup, ketchup to 1/3 cup as well, and didn't add any oil just sprayed some Smart Balance before baking. I think that the key was to add less bread crumbs, you really don't need more than 1 cup. It turned out fantastic! I would have never imagined this combination of flavors would be soo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2008
Even though these are vegetarian, they seemed overly high in calories and fat. I pulled out all the stops in order to try to reduce both. Instead of 4 whole eggs, I added 1 cup of egg substitute (like Eggbeaters). I also used fat-free cheddar cheese and non-fat cottage cheese. I used 1/2 nuts instead of the full 1 cup (I had cashews and almonds on-hand) and finally I used panko bread crumbs instead of regular bread crumbs. Things I added include: 1 tsp Italian herb mix, 2 carrots and 2 stalks of celery minced in a food processor, and 1/4 cup vital wheat gluten. For the sauce I completely omitted the oil and used sugar-free apricot spread. This made about 16 large balls. The flavor was actually very good and I've already made this recipe this way a couple of times. Even my non-dieting and non-vegetarian boyfriend liked them. The only slight issue with them may be the texture (they come out of the oven a little soft). When left in the fridge overnight they actually firm up quite a bit and are perfect. I think one could also throw the batter into a loaf pan and make a "meat"loaf out of this. According to my (rough) calculations, each meatball has only about 120 calories and very little fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richland, Washington, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
Used this as a base veggie meatball recipe and was it was excellent! Easy to adapt to any kind of veggie meatballs you might need... thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mezzobuff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fair Oaks, California, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
I was skeptical, but needed a change from our beans & rice/pasta/stir fry rut. These were wonderful! I used sunflower seeds instead of nuts (allergy in the house). Would probably double the sauce next time because we loved is so. I used less ketchup as per other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Sweet and Hot Mustard Wings

Sweet and hot mustards make these a tasty alternative to regular wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States