Vegetarian Sweet and Sour Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
Didn't care for the sauce on these, it seemed to missing something. I might try the meatballs in a pasta sauce next time. I didn't think the sage seasoning in the meatballs went with with the sweet & sour sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tizzylizz
Home Town: Milford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nico
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
I used these "meatballs" for spaghetti and they were amazing. I baked them in a casserole dish without sauce for about 40 minutes. I can't wait to use the leftovers for "meatball" subs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nico

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Philadelphia, Ohio, USA
Living In: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
Very interesting. I would have never believed that this combination of ingredients would lead to this taste and texture. It was pretty good. I do not think I will make it again - as I preffer real meatballs (made from ground chicken). I did not tell my husband what was in the meatballs - to see his reaction. He thought they were pretty good as well. We both liked the sauce too (which needed to be doubled and then thinned out a bit with some hot water. I did make a bunch of changes to make the meatballs low fat and healthier. I omitted the cheese and pecans in the "meatballs" and left out the oil in the sauce to redude the fat. I also substituted heart healthy oats for the bread crumbs. I needed to add more oats in place of the omitted nuts to help make a denser mixture that would hold together as a ball and not fall apart. If I do make these again, I would take the advice of a previous reviewer and shred carrots and zucchini to sneak some vegetables into this mixture. I will also saute the onion because they were still very firm when we ate them, and I would like the onion to be softer and be part of the meatball mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by P.Smith
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
These are so delicious, and so easy to make. I followed the recipe to a tee other than reducing the ketchup to 3/4 cup (as others suggested), and omitting the sage (seemed out of place). I served them to my 83 year old dad, and he never knew they were meatless! Next time I will double the sauce and serve them over rice. Five stars and highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by P.Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
This was really good! I am not a huge fan of sweet and sour sauce but I will totally try these with a marinara sauce next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
I loved this recipe. I made it for a 4th of July picnic and got rave reviews. I added more bread crumbs until you could shape into meatballs. Don't make them too big since they swell during the cooking period. I will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
This will be a nice treat when my family just wants a snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosella

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
This is a recipe I have made tons of time. It is also good with a tomato (marinara) sauce. I have also made them into "sausage rolls" using the meatball mixture rolled in puff or filo pastry, just add some grated carrot or butternut squash. It will make a pretty good burger as well. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flowerdalejewel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
I absolutely love these. They're great. Last time I made them, I didn't realize I was out of chopped pecans until it was too late to turn back, so I ended up using chopped (and smashed) almonds instead. And they were still good. I defenitely recommend these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: May 19, 2008
The first time I made them I followed the recipe the way it is. But as I was adding the ingredients, I realized how much sodium and fat would be in it. The texture turned out way too hard and all you could taste was bread crumbs, I think that 2 cups of bread crumbs is too much. However, I still had a feeling this recipe could be good, so today I made several changes: 1 whole egg + 2 egg whites, fat free cottage cheese, 1/4 cup of 2% cheddar + 1/2 cup parmesan, 2 minced garlic cloves, onion, spices and 1 cup of bread crumbs. For the sauce: I reduced apricot jam to 1/3 cup, ketchup to 1/3 cup as well, and didn't add any oil just sprayed some Smart Balance before baking. I think that the key was to add less bread crumbs, you really don't need more than 1 cup. It turned out fantastic! I would have never imagined this combination of flavors would be soo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Sweet and Hot Mustard Wings

Sweet and hot mustards make these a tasty alternative to regular wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States