Vegetarian Sweet and Sour Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Photo by Zory
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
These meatballs were SO good! We loved them. I used regular bread crumbs so the batter was mushy so I added some more bread crumbs and a little crushed cornflakes. I couldn't find sage anywhere so I just left it out. I didn't have dried basil so I added fresh. I will definitely make again but I want to see if I can make this recipe lower fat as it has a TONS of calories/fat, etc. Anyway, will try with egg beater the next time to see if it comes out just as good. Will update that too. The sauce was good but I made it in on the stove. I made half and it was still too much. It was okay, will add less ketchup next time as I didn't read the reviews where it said to reduce, oh well, next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zory

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
This was really very tasty. The only change I made was to add minced garlic to the "meat". I did, however, find the meatballs to be a little dry. Next time I will moisten the breadcrumbs with a little milk before adding to the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimz11

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
These were good - I would definitely make them again. The only thing I didn't absolutely love was the sauce - I guess the flavors were OK (I love sweet and sour anything), but there wasn't enough of it. The sauce barely covered the meatballs in a 9 X 13. Strange. I would probably double the sauce. Or pour some sort of creamy mushroom sauce over it, as another reviewer suggested. Pretty versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
This recipe was amazing. A bit hit and so easy to make. I did make a few changes just because I didn't have enough of everything. For starters I used 3 eggs, just under 1 cup of shredded cheese, 1 teaspoon salt (and it was still a bit salty), marjoram (no sage on hand), 1 1/2 cups breadcrumbs, just over 1/2 cup cottage cheese and just under 1 cup of finely chopped pecans, sunflower seeds and cashews (mainly pecans though). I also added 1 carrot, finely chopped (finely shredded may make the mixture too wet). I chose to use a marinara sauce, because I didn't want to sweet and sour sauce and it was delicious. I cooked the meatballs in the sauce and they turned out great. Since the recipe made so many, I just rolled them and baked them solo (no sauce) and have popped them in the freezer - so easy. I will certainly make these again. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by belle
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
These were easy to make and tasty. They did not taste like real meatballs and I read in other reviews but they were good none the less. When I baked them I put the sauce over half and left the other half plain to use with spaghetti. The sweet and sour sauce was surprisingly delicious, and I cut down the ketchup just because how many reviewers said it would just taste like ketchup other wise. I might make these again but probably not any time soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by belle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
Didn't care for the sauce on these, it seemed to missing something. I might try the meatballs in a pasta sauce next time. I didn't think the sage seasoning in the meatballs went with with the sweet & sour sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tizzylizz
Home Town: Milford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nico
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
I used these "meatballs" for spaghetti and they were amazing. I baked them in a casserole dish without sauce for about 40 minutes. I can't wait to use the leftovers for "meatball" subs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nico

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Philadelphia, Ohio, USA
Living In: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
Very interesting. I would have never believed that this combination of ingredients would lead to this taste and texture. It was pretty good. I do not think I will make it again - as I preffer real meatballs (made from ground chicken). I did not tell my husband what was in the meatballs - to see his reaction. He thought they were pretty good as well. We both liked the sauce too (which needed to be doubled and then thinned out a bit with some hot water. I did make a bunch of changes to make the meatballs low fat and healthier. I omitted the cheese and pecans in the "meatballs" and left out the oil in the sauce to redude the fat. I also substituted heart healthy oats for the bread crumbs. I needed to add more oats in place of the omitted nuts to help make a denser mixture that would hold together as a ball and not fall apart. If I do make these again, I would take the advice of a previous reviewer and shred carrots and zucchini to sneak some vegetables into this mixture. I will also saute the onion because they were still very firm when we ate them, and I would like the onion to be softer and be part of the meatball mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by P.Smith
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
These are so delicious, and so easy to make. I followed the recipe to a tee other than reducing the ketchup to 3/4 cup (as others suggested), and omitting the sage (seemed out of place). I served them to my 83 year old dad, and he never knew they were meatless! Next time I will double the sauce and serve them over rice. Five stars and highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by P.Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
This was really good! I am not a huge fan of sweet and sour sauce but I will totally try these with a marinara sauce next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Sweet and Hot Mustard Wings

Sweet and hot mustards make these a tasty alternative to regular wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States