Vegetarian Sweet and Sour Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
This even fooled my husband!! He's a meat & potato guy & my daughter is a vegetarian. He thought I used ground chicken or turkey. Served with stroganoff sauce (no one is a sweet & sour sauce fan). I baked on a greased cookie sheet for about 8-10 min, turning half way through. Suggest adding bread crumbs a little at a time, just enough so you can roll into balls. Plan on making patties for a burger and in spaghetti sauce. Nice change from Tofu & beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Avon Lake, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Really great if your a vegetarian! I make these just as the recipe says except I leave out the sage. I bake them in the oven with no sauce and then add them to a slow cooker with BBQ sauce and we snack on them all day! So yummy! And they get better as they sit. I've made them several times and never get sick of them. Thanks for sharing this! xo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Victoria, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
one of the best vegetarian meatballs recipes. Should line pan with tin foil and/or add a little more water to sauce. Also should remove meatballs right away as sauce hardens quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
I am struggling to be a full fledged vegetarian. I was raised a meat eater but just don't see any reason that an animal should die so that I can survive. Especially with all the wonderful alternatives. I added a little olive oil to this recipe just for texture. It was excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
I didn't care for these at all. Perhaps that is just the carnivore in me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wanderer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
These are awesome! I made them twice in one week. I took them to a Halloween party for a veggie option and they were gone within minutes and then I made a second batch later that week- they reheat really well. One thing I changed was to make the "meatballs" slightly smaller the second time. I had no problems with them being too mushy at all. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Powell, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
These are absolutely the best ever. I have only ever made these the "italian" way with red sauce, so i have never made the sweet and sour sauce. but the meatballs are just so delicious. Since getting this in my all recipe email, i must have made them at least half a dozen times. i add all the normal italian spices, use seasoned bread crumbs, whatever nuts i have on hand (they all work fine it seems) and seasoned bread crumbs. i omit the salt because the breadcrumbs are so salty as it is. so great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Robbinsville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sarah
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
These were OK. They had a mushy texture. I'm used to buying and eating "Nate's Italian Meatballs" (veggie frozen meatballs). Maybe I'll try a different combination/ratio of ingredients next time. I didn't make the sauce - I just baked them in regular canned spaghetti sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
Edible, but I don't think it's a keeper. Had too much of a bready flavor, so if I were to do it again, I would probably cut down on the bread crumbs. The sauce was really good though. I think I will use that again with regular meatballs. In spite of being vegetarian, DO NOT mistake this for being healthy. I got 18 meatballs using a 2 tbsp scoop out of this recipe. Once I added up JUST the caloric stuff, that worked out to 205 calories per meatball. Yikes! BTW: this is the same recipe as Sweet and Sour Faux Meat Balls except for one less egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Zory
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
These meatballs were SO good! We loved them. I used regular bread crumbs so the batter was mushy so I added some more bread crumbs and a little crushed cornflakes. I couldn't find sage anywhere so I just left it out. I didn't have dried basil so I added fresh. I will definitely make again but I want to see if I can make this recipe lower fat as it has a TONS of calories/fat, etc. Anyway, will try with egg beater the next time to see if it comes out just as good. Will update that too. The sauce was good but I made it in on the stove. I made half and it was still too much. It was okay, will add less ketchup next time as I didn't read the reviews where it said to reduce, oh well, next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zory

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Sweet and Hot Mustard Wings

Sweet and hot mustards make these a tasty alternative to regular wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States