Vegetarian Sweet and Sour Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Great. One of my favorite recipes. I followed the suggestion to only use 1 & 1/4 cups of bread crumbs and skipped the sage. Will def. make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
This was one of the best vegetarian recipes I've found in a long time. I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Great flavor! Wonderful, easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Even my meat loving husband LOVED them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I have tried many many vegetarian burgers and meatball recipes and nothing compares to this one.. i did make a few changes. substituted the cottage cheese with ricotta cheese., mixed nuts for the pecans which iground into a paste, added garlic powder and ground ginger. i did not use the parsley, basil or any of the herbs. i baked the meatballs and then brushed with orange ginger sauce. and some with sesame sauce. there were a HUGE hit . i am going to try crumbled blue cheese and franks hot sauce for a buffalo wing taste. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I first tasted these delicious meatballs at a Bunco party. Even though I am the only vegetarian in the group, everyone tried and loved them. I made them myself today with a few variations: I used walnuts instead of pecans, Panko breadcrumbs instead of seasoned breadcrumbs, and I added 1 can of pureed Northern white beans for protein. I think there are many variations you could try, depending on what is on hand.They were amazing and everyone raved about them again. We ate them as Italian meatballs in sourdough bread with a little marinara sauce. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
This is a fantastic recipe! I'm not a vegetarian, but I'm always looking for options to serve to my friends who are. Everybody loved these, meat eaters and vegetarians alike! They were even better the next day so if you're serving them for a party, I would recommend making them the day before and reheating them in the crockpot. The second time I made them, I used low/no fat or low sugar/calorie versions of everything I could and personally didn't notice any significant difference in consistency or taste. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Tried this recipe for the first time to use for some guests who were vegetarian. It was delicious and was a real hit at the party. Even my omnivorous friends thought it was amazing;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I am not a fan of soy meat substitutes. As a vegetarian, if I want something meaty, I usually opt for mushrooms. I got a craving for cocktail meatballs, with cranberry and chili sauce. I used this meatball recipe and was thrilled with the outcome. They hit the spot and my meat-loving husband enjoyed them too. Easy to tailor to your liking. I added italian seasonings as well and used low fat cheddar and low fat cottage cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
These meatballs are very versatile. I make them plain, without any sauce. Then they can be basically a meat substitute for anything. Covered with mushroom gravy, they were my thanksgiving turkey replacement. Warmed with marinara, perfect meatball hoagie. Siracha hot sauce turn them into a spicy appetizer. Love this recipe, a must for vegetarians that don't want to eat the store bought "meat substitute" products.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Sweet and Hot Mustard Wings

Sweet and hot mustards make these a tasty alternative to regular wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States