Vegetarian Sweet and Sour Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2015
Wow. As a #1 meat lover, I was SHOCKED how good these are! They are DELICIOUS! I had a vegetarian friend over for dinner and gave these a whirl. Followed the meatball recipe as written except: ( used 1 c. Egg whites, made my own sprout bread bread crumbs and used my own seasonings). My friend also LOVED these and took the recipe home. The texture and firmness were perfect after baking (I was nervous because the raw state seemed a little soupy), you could not tell it was a "meatless" meatball. I'm already thinking about all of the other sauces/meatballs you could make with this recipe - curry..teriyaki.. mushroom gravy..and on and on. Whoever came up with this recipe is brilliant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
I made these for our daughter's birthday...let me tell you, she thought they were HEAVEN! They smell delicious while cooking and taste even better! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
Just tried this recipe last night on the family & it got a "thumbs up!" Really gr8 sweet & sour sauce. When I told husband on phone that I was "trying out a new recipe," he commented afterwards that he didn't have very high expectations and was pleasantly surprised that these tasted so good. Did modify recipe by using mozzarella cheese & reducing ketchup to 1/3 cup & salt to just a tsp. Thx 4 sharing recipe! &:0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
A good recipe for my vegetarian husband. Not very fun to make but next time i'll try freezing half of it so its not a pain to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Made for Elizabeth on 2/15/15; we both really liked them. Next time I would add chopped up veggies. Loved the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
I like the meatballs, but this sauce is TOO MUCH !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Awesome in theory but made lots of changes....you will NOT be disappointed! Egg whites, nonfat cottage cheese, vegan cheddar (which is creamier), lower on breadcrumbs and jam. Add more garlic, Italian seasoning, and hot sauce. Served at a large party, not one person could tell it was healthy or vegetarian. ..everyone LOVED THEM! My new secret!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
These were good. I skipped the sauce and instead bake them without sauce and then put a barbecue sauce on them and serve them as an appetizer. And used ground gluten-free rice chex cereal in place of the breadcrumbs. It did a good job. I will make these again. UPDATE: made as Italian style meatballs in spaghetti sauce...AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
These were awesome. Texturally just like meatballs and tasted even better than meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
These were so yummy! My husband and I love these. They are one of our new favorite vegetarian dishes. I've made them several times now with different sauces and they always come out perfect! The only change I made was I used oats instead of breadcrumbs each time. Thank you for the amazing recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Sweet and Hot Mustard Wings

Sweet and hot mustards make these a tasty alternative to regular wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States