Vegetarian Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
I made this recipie for Thanksgiving yesterday and had mixed reviews from young and old alike. Me personally, I enjoyed the change from traditional stuffing I've been accustomed to, although I was not happy with the stuffings overall appearance upon serving from the oven. I used all of the extra ingeredients but only used half the amount of vegetable broth the recipie called for. I couldn't imagine how soupy this mixture would have been with the additional broth. ***Note: the stuffing really tasted and looked better the next day after reheating the refrigerated leftovers. Maybe next time I will make stuffing a day in advance and sub chicken broth for vegetable broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kent, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2004
We have a mushroom hater in our midst, so I used cream of celery soup. It was delicious with only the optional pecans and cranberries added. Carnivores will not be disappointed in this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2001
It's great to be able to make stuffing without having to rely on any meat. It was very tasty, I used all the optionals. One note: I'd leave the wild rice out.. it's very hard and goes against the otherwise smooth feel of the dish. Otherwise, very yummy, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
This is an exceptionally good result for the amount of time invested. I made this for my book group's holiday potluck with the following modifications: off-the-shelf 12-grain loaf, cream of mushroom w/ garlic, about 1/2 the broth and water recommended, fresh cracked pepper (about 15 turns of the mill), generous shakes of Chef Paul's "poultry magic", and just a dried fruit and nut mix by Salad Pizazz ("cherry cranberry pecano") in place of all the suggested options. All available in a pinch at my Safeway, which was one of the best things about this recipe. My book group gobbled it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Berlin, Berlin, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
As a vegetarian, I loved this. I did leave the wild rice out and nuts out however to keep the consistency smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2000
YUMMY!!! I cooked this stuffing for an alternative to the normal stuffing on Thanksgiving. It was a hugh hit. The cranberries are just an option but I recommend that you use them. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2002
This delicious dressing is full of flavor and texture. I used all optional ingredients and it was excellent. I watched my wife's eyes at first bite and they lit up! My 3 year old daughter liked it too. She especially liked the pine needles(wild rice). I'm making it for my carnivorous family for Christmas, I'm sure they'll love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2001
Didn't form a solid loaf as I had hoped; it sort of flattened out. It was very tasty and my guests enjoyed it enough to get seconds and thirds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2000
I loved this!I think I ate most of it!Will definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2000
I brought this stuffing to my famiy Thanksgiving dinner. Everyone did love it, even the meat eaters! I added all the optional ingredients and it turned out fantastic! Thanks-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Stuffing

A Thanksgiving side dish that will delight vegetarians and meat lovers alike.

Cornbread Stuffing

Learn how to make a simple baked cornbread stuffing that’s perfect with poultry.

Sausage, Apple, and Cranberry Stuffing

This stuffing blends sausage, turkey liver, fruits, and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States