Vegetarian Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I tweeked this recipe a little. My grandparents always made meatless stuffing, so I grew up with it. It is so much better than your traditional meat stuffing. Mine Rocks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Having a vegetarian step-son, I like to make as many dishes that he can enjoy as well at large family/friend meals. I have a mushroom hater also so substituted cream of celery soup and did add sauted onion and celery. Left out the wild rice (but may add this in when I make it again). I did add the cranberries, pecans, and apple. I sprayed a 3 qt. baking dish instead of using foil. This was exceptional. My ste-son enjoyed it but our company raved. Brian and I found it just as good, if not better, the next day. It's a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bertha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carthage, New York, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I made this for Thanksgiving and got great reviews! I followed some of the other reviews and sauteed diced onion, celery, and carrots in a bit of butter and the recommended seasonings, then mixed it into the stuffing. Instead of making a loaf, I baked it in a square pan, which turned out well. I would make this again! With the updates I mentioned, I think it's more like a 4.5-star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marbear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
DRY! Will add more liquid and less bread next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boulder24

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Here's how to avoid using canned mushroom soup: - sauté the 1/2 cup of mushrooms in 3 tbsp olive oil - Stir in 3 tbsp flour to create a roux - Add milk a little at time until it becomes the consistency of condensed soup It's best to use the vegetable broth from box or condensed cubes. Cans contain BPA which may be linked to several harmful health conditions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by neufuture
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
I'm a vegetarian and I am spending this Thanksgiving with a friend who's vegan. I made this recipe and I swapped out the cream of mushroom soup for organic coconut milk. I also added some fresh garlic and red onions. It was fantastic! Thanks for posting this recipe - I'll be making it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Willow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
I love this stuffing. It was very flavorful. I used a plain cornbread for this. I didn't use the mushrooms, but I used everything else and I really liked the pecans and rice. I wouldn't leave anything out except maybe the mushrooms. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
What a refreshingly awesome change up for stuffing. I made it for thanksgiving this year and got a few mixed reviews. The vegetarians seemed to love it and the carnivore seemed indifferent. I used all the optional ingredients and found I had to cook it quite a bit longer which was fine. I really liked the flavor and texture and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tuesday

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Leelanau, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
this was very good! everyone loved it! thank your for the recipe, i added everything it said too, i think next time i will experiment a little more with it, and i might leave out the nuts... but omg it was delicous! thanks agian!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by freakishej

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Duncan, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I love this stuffing! I brought it to thanksgiving this year and no one had any idea it was vegetarian. I kept getting compliments about my "amazing dressing" I added the optional cranberries (1/2 c), pecans, apples, mushrooms and I also added celery and onions. FANTASTIC!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsvioletsmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cornbread Stuffing

Learn how to make a simple baked cornbread stuffing that’s perfect with poultry.

Pecan Apricot Stuffing

See how to make this delicious all-purpose stuffing or dressing.

How to Make Stuffing

See the five elements to stuffing—and enjoy it with or without a bird.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States