Vegetarian Stuffed Red Bell Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
These are very good. The Granny Smith apples give them nice flavor. I would use 2 cups of water per 1 cup of quinoa though. I didn't use the mint but added a few more spices just to kick it up a bit. Overall, it is a nice vegetarian dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
We changed this recipe around a little bit. First we subbed quinoa with Israeli Couscous, however misjudged the yield on the couscous (1&1/3 cup - Standard at Trader Joe's) will probably fill 4-6 peppers. The couscous has a little more rewarding texture than quinoa. We also cooked the couscous in vegetable stock for more flavor. Also, I couldn't find green onions tonight, so I used chives, and they seemed to work well. With the added yield of the couscous, we doubled the tomatoes and apples. and lime juice. We also left out the mint. That said, this dish was absolutely excellent. The flavors just sort of jump out and are literally mouth watering. My boyfriend says it's the sort of thing that makes him think he could be vegetarian too. Since we had so much filling, there was enough to bake and eat without the peppers - very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Don't expect these to be like the stuffed peppers made with meat--they're not, but they are excellent. I used vegetable bouillon when cooking the quinoa, & added raisins and chopped pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
So delicious and prep time was much quicker than indicated. I omitted the mint and used a Jona Gold apple instead. I also added about 1 oz goat cheese and 1/4 cup sunflower seeds. My husband and I are trying to incorporate 1 vegetarian dish each week and this one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
I fix my quinoa 1:1.25. I had 2 very large peppers and didn't use even half the quinoa so will cut by half next time. Cooked the quinoa with 3 cloves of sliced garlic and used Better Than Bouillon chicken flavor. Not vegetarian but still meatless. I added about 1/2 cup of cooked barley. Dried mint cuz I didn't have fresh. Added 3 oz of ff Feta. I haven't eaten a stuffed pepper in 40 years, just not a fan of regular meat and rice versions. This version was terrific and will be used often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
This was OK but a little too sweet between the red pepper, apple, and tomatoes, I ate it and enjoyed it but don't think I'll ever crave it or really want to make it again. I like the idea though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MK!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edison, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Very yummy! I cooked the quinoa in broth instead of water and used a can of rotel (tomatoes & chilies) that I drained since i didn't have fresh tomatoes and omitted the mint.....soooo yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NinaT

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
These vegan stuffed peppers were sensational! The herb melody added such a kick to the quinoa, especially my fresh mint from the garden. I used both red and white quinoa to jazz up the colour of the dish; try a water quinoa ratio of 2:1. The Granny Smith apple adds a very nice texture. I will definitely make this again, even as a side salad rather than in a pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
These were sensational. I didn't have any apples so I substituted about a half cup of dried apricots, cranberries and cherries. If I had read other reviews earlier I would have tried the feta and sunflower seeds, too. All the veggies and herbs were fresh from my garden so it made for an especially satisfying entrée for our "one vegetarian day" a week my husband and I are doing now. I also had LOTS of filling left that can be a side dish or cold salad another day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Very tasty. The apple really added a nice contrast, along with about 1/4 c. gorgonzola I added. I was able to fill 8 pepper halves. Cutting length-wise is a great tip; the stems pull right off after cooking. I skipped the mint and forgot to add the lime juice. Also added one 8-oz. can of chick peas, drained, and about 1/4 c. chopped shiitake mushrooms. I found I had to double the baking time to soften the peppers, which were still somewhat crispy at 20 minutes (I recommend testing to one's liking). I also covered the dish with foil to maintain moistness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Meatless Stuffed Peppers

Peppers are filled with rice, veggies, and feta cheese.

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

See how to make a hearty vegetarian main course.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States