Vegetarian Stuffed Red Bell Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
These are very good. The Granny Smith apples give them nice flavor. I would use 2 cups of water per 1 cup of quinoa though. I didn't use the mint but added a few more spices just to kick it up a bit. Overall, it is a nice vegetarian dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Don't expect these to be like the stuffed peppers made with meat--they're not, but they are excellent. I used vegetable bouillon when cooking the quinoa, & added raisins and chopped pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
We changed this recipe around a little bit. First we subbed quinoa with Israeli Couscous, however misjudged the yield on the couscous (1&1/3 cup - Standard at Trader Joe's) will probably fill 4-6 peppers. The couscous has a little more rewarding texture than quinoa. We also cooked the couscous in vegetable stock for more flavor. Also, I couldn't find green onions tonight, so I used chives, and they seemed to work well. With the added yield of the couscous, we doubled the tomatoes and apples. and lime juice. We also left out the mint. That said, this dish was absolutely excellent. The flavors just sort of jump out and are literally mouth watering. My boyfriend says it's the sort of thing that makes him think he could be vegetarian too. Since we had so much filling, there was enough to bake and eat without the peppers - very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
So delicious and prep time was much quicker than indicated. I omitted the mint and used a Jona Gold apple instead. I also added about 1 oz goat cheese and 1/4 cup sunflower seeds. My husband and I are trying to incorporate 1 vegetarian dish each week and this one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
These were delicious! I used orzo since the local grocery store didn't have quinoa. I've never had regular stuffed peppers, but these were tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
I liked it! I've been discovering the joys of mint, so I was excited to try this recipe when I came across it. I have a bumper crop of peppers and need to find a recipe. I added sunflower seeds and feta for some protein. My only complaint was that I had way more filling than I could use in the peppers, but, we'll just eat it again tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
These vegan stuffed peppers were sensational! The herb melody added such a kick to the quinoa, especially my fresh mint from the garden. I used both red and white quinoa to jazz up the colour of the dish; try a water quinoa ratio of 2:1. The Granny Smith apple adds a very nice texture. I will definitely make this again, even as a side salad rather than in a pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
These were sensational. I didn't have any apples so I substituted about a half cup of dried apricots, cranberries and cherries. If I had read other reviews earlier I would have tried the feta and sunflower seeds, too. All the veggies and herbs were fresh from my garden so it made for an especially satisfying entrée for our "one vegetarian day" a week my husband and I are doing now. I also had LOTS of filling left that can be a side dish or cold salad another day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
they were ok, the filling was very tasty. I did miss some kind of sauce, so we ended up putting a slice of cheese on top and let it melt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
This was good. Very different. My husband is vegetarian and he thought it was good, although it won't be a staple in our house. Our kids (who eat mostly vegetarian) didn't enjoy it. I followed the recipe except added sunflower seeds and feta.. both family favorites. It was a nice light and healty dinner, just not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

See how to make a hearty vegetarian main course.

Meatless Stuffed Peppers

Peppers are filled with rice, veggies, and feta cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States