Vegetarian Stuffed Red Bell Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Don't expect these to be like the stuffed peppers made with meat--they're not, but they are excellent. I used vegetable bouillon when cooking the quinoa, & added raisins and chopped pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
These were sensational. I didn't have any apples so I substituted about a half cup of dried apricots, cranberries and cherries. If I had read other reviews earlier I would have tried the feta and sunflower seeds, too. All the veggies and herbs were fresh from my garden so it made for an especially satisfying entrée for our "one vegetarian day" a week my husband and I are doing now. I also had LOTS of filling left that can be a side dish or cold salad another day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
We changed this recipe around a little bit. First we subbed quinoa with Israeli Couscous, however misjudged the yield on the couscous (1&1/3 cup - Standard at Trader Joe's) will probably fill 4-6 peppers. The couscous has a little more rewarding texture than quinoa. We also cooked the couscous in vegetable stock for more flavor. Also, I couldn't find green onions tonight, so I used chives, and they seemed to work well. With the added yield of the couscous, we doubled the tomatoes and apples. and lime juice. We also left out the mint. That said, this dish was absolutely excellent. The flavors just sort of jump out and are literally mouth watering. My boyfriend says it's the sort of thing that makes him think he could be vegetarian too. Since we had so much filling, there was enough to bake and eat without the peppers - very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Very tasty. The apple really added a nice contrast, along with about 1/4 c. gorgonzola I added. I was able to fill 8 pepper halves. Cutting length-wise is a great tip; the stems pull right off after cooking. I skipped the mint and forgot to add the lime juice. Also added one 8-oz. can of chick peas, drained, and about 1/4 c. chopped shiitake mushrooms. I found I had to double the baking time to soften the peppers, which were still somewhat crispy at 20 minutes (I recommend testing to one's liking). I also covered the dish with foil to maintain moistness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Very yummy! I cooked the quinoa in broth instead of water and used a can of rotel (tomatoes & chilies) that I drained since i didn't have fresh tomatoes and omitted the mint.....soooo yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NinaT

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
So delicious and prep time was much quicker than indicated. I omitted the mint and used a Jona Gold apple instead. I also added about 1 oz goat cheese and 1/4 cup sunflower seeds. My husband and I are trying to incorporate 1 vegetarian dish each week and this one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
These were delicious! I used orzo since the local grocery store didn't have quinoa. I've never had regular stuffed peppers, but these were tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
These vegan stuffed peppers were sensational! The herb melody added such a kick to the quinoa, especially my fresh mint from the garden. I used both red and white quinoa to jazz up the colour of the dish; try a water quinoa ratio of 2:1. The Granny Smith apple adds a very nice texture. I will definitely make this again, even as a side salad rather than in a pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I made the recipe standing up and neater appearance since I took them to a small get together. Substituted brown rice for the quinoa. Delicious. I added a little curry and the apples gave an extra sweetness. They were all gone and people went back to scoop up the rice! Enjoy this one ~ it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KristinTOk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
These were great, and I added a cup of minced cranberries, too. I think they really made the dish, especially since it's the Christmas season. Also, other reviewers had suggested goat's cheese, which I happened to have, so I added that, too. Magnifique! I served it with Indian-style naan bread and the moroccan salmon cakes also on allrecipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladyoracle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Meatless Stuffed Peppers

Peppers are filled with rice, veggies, and feta cheese.

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

See how to make a hearty vegetarian main course.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States