Vegetarian Stuffed Red Bell Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
This was OK but a little too sweet between the red pepper, apple, and tomatoes, I ate it and enjoyed it but don't think I'll ever crave it or really want to make it again. I like the idea though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MK!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edison, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Very tasty. The apple really added a nice contrast, along with about 1/4 c. gorgonzola I added. I was able to fill 8 pepper halves. Cutting length-wise is a great tip; the stems pull right off after cooking. I skipped the mint and forgot to add the lime juice. Also added one 8-oz. can of chick peas, drained, and about 1/4 c. chopped shiitake mushrooms. I found I had to double the baking time to soften the peppers, which were still somewhat crispy at 20 minutes (I recommend testing to one's liking). I also covered the dish with foil to maintain moistness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Very yummy! I cooked the quinoa in broth instead of water and used a can of rotel (tomatoes & chilies) that I drained since i didn't have fresh tomatoes and omitted the mint.....soooo yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NinaT

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
These were great, and I added a cup of minced cranberries, too. I think they really made the dish, especially since it's the Christmas season. Also, other reviewers had suggested goat's cheese, which I happened to have, so I added that, too. Magnifique! I served it with Indian-style naan bread and the moroccan salmon cakes also on allrecipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladyoracle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
It was definitely an inspiration, but my hubby does not care for mint and tomatoes bother my stomach...so, I made a 'curry spice sauce' with a little coconut milk+water/couple of spare colorful bell peppers and green chilies/curry spices/onion/garlic cloves/pink himalayan sea salt/fresh basil/limes from our tree-->ALL pureed together. Red and original Quinoa, used Lentils/diced carrots, celery, apple, raisins. Mixed/Stuffed/Steamed it all/drizzled some leftover steaming sauce and served with baked sweet potatoes topped with Bulgarian pure yogurt and scallions and tiny bit of olive oil....C'est la vie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle Atherton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I made the recipe standing up and neater appearance since I took them to a small get together. Substituted brown rice for the quinoa. Delicious. I added a little curry and the apples gave an extra sweetness. They were all gone and people went back to scoop up the rice! Enjoy this one ~ it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KristinTOk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
This was good. Very different. My husband is vegetarian and he thought it was good, although it won't be a staple in our house. Our kids (who eat mostly vegetarian) didn't enjoy it. I followed the recipe except added sunflower seeds and feta.. both family favorites. It was a nice light and healty dinner, just not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
they were ok, the filling was very tasty. I did miss some kind of sauce, so we ended up putting a slice of cheese on top and let it melt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia Poole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
These were sensational. I didn't have any apples so I substituted about a half cup of dried apricots, cranberries and cherries. If I had read other reviews earlier I would have tried the feta and sunflower seeds, too. All the veggies and herbs were fresh from my garden so it made for an especially satisfying entrée for our "one vegetarian day" a week my husband and I are doing now. I also had LOTS of filling left that can be a side dish or cold salad another day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
These vegan stuffed peppers were sensational! The herb melody added such a kick to the quinoa, especially my fresh mint from the garden. I used both red and white quinoa to jazz up the colour of the dish; try a water quinoa ratio of 2:1. The Granny Smith apple adds a very nice texture. I will definitely make this again, even as a side salad rather than in a pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Meatless Stuffed Peppers

Peppers are filled with rice, veggies, and feta cheese.

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

See how to make a hearty vegetarian main course.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States