Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
Loved this, but changed it significantly. Used whole wheat couscous instead of rice. Left out the tofu, and added spinach and feta cheese. Didn't microwave the peppers so they stayed crunchy, brushed oil over them before baking. Used green, yellow and red peppers, all were delicious. This is going into our frequent rotation of meals, it was so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2005
This was a great recipe to work with. Since I made changes, I don't know if I am at liberty to give it a five, but I did. Since my family would not want to be eating an entire green pepper, I made these into stuffed cabbage. I sauted a finely chopped green pepper, onion and garlic. Then I added the soy sauce, wine and Worcestershire sauce. I increased the wine and soy sauce to 1/4 cup. I did not use the cranberries or pecans due to family preferences, however, I think they would be a great addition. I rolled the mixture in cabbage leaves and poured the tomato sauce on top and baked at 350 degrees for about an hour. They were very good. I had leftover mixture and it is great all by itself. All in all, a tasty recipe no matter how you prepare it. Update: I have since made these exactly as the recipe is written (except increasing the soy sauce and sherry by an extra tablespoon each) and they are my favorite Vegetarian Stuffed Pepper!!! Love them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IEATTOFU
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
We were in the mood for Stuffed Peppers and this recipe looked good. We didn't have any dried cranberries or pecans on hand, so I substituted them with raisins and walnuts, which tasted great. Lots of interesting textures/flavors! My husband raved at how nice the filling was and that it seemed "meaty." I will likely be making this recipe again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IEATTOFU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Coggeshall, Essex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggietoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cardiff, Glamorgan, Wales, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
This was really yummy! I baked the green peppers face down for about 25 min before stuffing them and putting them back in. I also added cumin to the mixture. I did not use the sherry, I didnt have any and wasnt going to buy some since I never use it. I did add the chopped pecans which were really good, I was going to add some raisens but SOMEBODY ate them so I didn't have any left. :) Overall very good and will definately make this again. Its also really good reheated as left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Panama City Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by conzone
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
Excellent Dish. I was a little concerned about it tasting rather bland though it came out amazing. The cranberries and pecans gave it a great accent. I was a little confused by the directions. I wasn't sure if it meant to put a 1/2 in of water insider the peppers and microwave or put a 1/2 in of water in the bottom of the dish and place the peppers into the dish. I choose to put the water in the dish and then the peppers in. The other thing I wasn't sure by the directions was how small to chop the tofu before placing it in with the soy sauce, wine, worcestershire sauce. I looked up another tofu stuffed pepper recipe online that called for dicing the tofu and decided to go that way which worked perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by conzone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oswego, New York, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Very tasty! One of the best 'stuffed pepper' recipes I've tried... Great marinate/ saute for tofu, which I'll use again for other purposes too! I used 'Dragonfly's Bulk Dry Uncheese Mix' (from vegweb.com) instead of parmesan, added some parsley to the stuffing for color (fresh basil would be good too), & changed the cooking strategy a little, but followed the recipe otherwise. I treated it as a make-ahead casserole: microwave-steamed the peppers 6 min, mixed up the stuffing, stuffed the peppers, topped 'em with the tomato sauce mixture, then covered & refrigerated overnight. Baked it, covered, 20 min at 350; uncovered it for another 10... delicious! A little bulky to eat; may experiment with stuffed zuchini next... or maybe *quartered* peppers... this would make a really pretty holiday casserole, with red/ yellow/ green bell quarters stuffed & topped w/ fresh herbs.... hmmm... anyway: YUMMY! thanks for sharing this delicious recipe!! I'll definitely make it again! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hotcooknmama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2004
This turned out great! I made this and froze it so that I could pop it in the oven another day. Since it was frozen, it had to bake quite a bit longer (about 1 hr 15 min total). I like the way the rice got crunchy while baking. I sprinkled with cheese instead of the tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
Made this recipe for meat-eaters and veggies alike. For the meaties I added ground beef in three peppers; tofu mix in five other peppers for the veggies. I honestly liked the brown rice mixture better on its own than inside the peppers. Perhaps my huge organic ones were too thick and still very crisp. I'd increase the amount of sauce and maybe layer some sauce while stuffing the peppers. Might increase the amount of cranberries next time as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jetts83
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Absolutely delicious! Very healthy and easy to make. I cut this recipe in half since I was only cooking for two people. Give this recipe a try! You will not be disappointed. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

See how to make a hearty vegetarian main course.

Meatless Stuffed Peppers

Peppers are filled with rice, veggies, and feta cheese.

Stuffed Peppers My Way

These roasted green bell peppers are stuffed with a savory feta and rice mixture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States