Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
I wasn't sure what to do w/ the tofu, so I diced it and then added it to the sherry/soy sauce. I used batsmati rice instead of brown. I cut my green peps in half lengthwise and then simmered them for one minute/side before filling them. I added a touch of cinnamon and black pepper to the tomato sauce. The first day they were fine, not bad but nothing amazing. The second day, reheated, they were much better- I also mashed my rice with the sauce the second day. I think mixing the sauce w/ the rice before stuffing might help some? It's a good, filling, vegetarian meal that let me feel guilt free after Xmas dinner. I will make 'em again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
Made this recipe for meat-eaters and veggies alike. For the meaties I added ground beef in three peppers; tofu mix in five other peppers for the veggies. I honestly liked the brown rice mixture better on its own than inside the peppers. Perhaps my huge organic ones were too thick and still very crisp. I'd increase the amount of sauce and maybe layer some sauce while stuffing the peppers. Might increase the amount of cranberries next time as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
This was SO delish, even my carnivore fiance loved it! I bought some huge organic green peppers and cut them in half length-wise. It was plenty for one person. I also added some water on the cookie-sheet towards to end of cooking as to not make burn marks on the pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IEATTOFU
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
We were in the mood for Stuffed Peppers and this recipe looked good. We didn't have any dried cranberries or pecans on hand, so I substituted them with raisins and walnuts, which tasted great. Lots of interesting textures/flavors! My husband raved at how nice the filling was and that it seemed "meaty." I will likely be making this recipe again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IEATTOFU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Coggeshall, Essex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
We adored the peppers. Took us a long time in prep, but it was worth it and they make great reheated lunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
This was quite tasty. I was making it for my fiance, who is a meat kind of guy, so I substituted sausage for the tofu with yummy results. I also added a touch of cinnamon to both the stuffing and the sauce. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2005
This was a great recipe to work with. Since I made changes, I don't know if I am at liberty to give it a five, but I did. Since my family would not want to be eating an entire green pepper, I made these into stuffed cabbage. I sauted a finely chopped green pepper, onion and garlic. Then I added the soy sauce, wine and Worcestershire sauce. I increased the wine and soy sauce to 1/4 cup. I did not use the cranberries or pecans due to family preferences, however, I think they would be a great addition. I rolled the mixture in cabbage leaves and poured the tomato sauce on top and baked at 350 degrees for about an hour. They were very good. I had leftover mixture and it is great all by itself. All in all, a tasty recipe no matter how you prepare it. Update: I have since made these exactly as the recipe is written (except increasing the soy sauce and sherry by an extra tablespoon each) and they are my favorite Vegetarian Stuffed Pepper!!! Love them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2005
interesting twist on an old recipe. lacked kick though...will add spice next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2005
Excellent recipe! Unique blend of flavors and textures. Time consuming but easy and definitely worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2005
This recipe was delicious! I wouldn't change a thing. Very filling with a lot of great textures and flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

See how to make a hearty vegetarian main course.

Meatless Stuffed Peppers

Peppers are filled with rice, veggies, and feta cheese.

Stuffed Peppers My Way

These roasted green bell peppers are stuffed with a savory feta and rice mixture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States