Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
I think this recipe is great. I made a couple of very minor changes; left out the sherry and I added some of the tomato sauce mixture to the stuffing before baking to make it a bit more moist. Used red peppers and they were just a bit crisp-tender, just the way I like them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I absolutely loved these. As the cook in a vegetarian family, I'm always looking for [easy] ways to make tofu more interesting. Takes a lot of creativity to come up with these weird ingredients to stuff a pepper with, but it works! I roasted the peppers (yellow and red) first, and everything came out crunchy and flavorful. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
This is a very healthy vegetarian dish, but it's really lacking in flavor. The cranberries are an excellent touch, but I'd consider doing something else with a crunch besides pecans. I ended up putting hot sauce on mine and it was okay that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggietoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cardiff, Glamorgan, Wales, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
These were good and they had potential, but not a do-over. Liked it better without the sauce (dried cranberries don't usually go good with tomato sauce I figured out).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
"Wow!" is all I can say! The only change I made was to use vegetarian "beef crumbles" instead of tofu. All together this recipe blew my mind! The flavors were exceptional together. The funny thing is that I'm not big on bell peppers, but I thought I'd give it a whirl. Kudos for an excellent, fun, easy recipe. Note: my kids only ate the mixture out, not the peppers, but that's still awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SailorJane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
Wow, this is great. I didn't miss the meat at all. I used walnuts instead of pecans, white japanese rice instead of brown, and shredded parm instead of grated. I cooked the diced tofu in the sauce, but also cooked the cranberries, and nuts in the sauce. I added green onions and diced tomatoes to the stuffing mix as it cooked in the sauce. Afterward, I stirred in white rice and shredded parmesean. Instead of using tomato sauce, I pureed more of the diced tomatoes in a food processor and spooned them on top. I sprinkled w/ shredded parmesean on top before baking. I found there was no need to wait for the stuffing mix to cool before loading up the microwaved peppers. They were great and easy! I served them with sesame green beans and peanut butter noodles. Everyone loved it! No one missed meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
Delicious! A little dry, I would add the sauce with the stuffing before baking, and not spooning it on after.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Looking for Perfection

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Okanagan, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
This was really yummy! I baked the green peppers face down for about 25 min before stuffing them and putting them back in. I also added cumin to the mixture. I did not use the sherry, I didnt have any and wasnt going to buy some since I never use it. I did add the chopped pecans which were really good, I was going to add some raisens but SOMEBODY ate them so I didn't have any left. :) Overall very good and will definately make this again. Its also really good reheated as left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Panama City Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
These were delicious! Adding the cranberries gave it a nice sweet and savory combination. I served it when we had vegetarian friends over and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

See how to make a hearty vegetarian main course.

Meatless Stuffed Peppers

Peppers are filled with rice, veggies, and feta cheese.

Stuffed Peppers My Way

These roasted green bell peppers are stuffed with a savory feta and rice mixture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States