Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
"Wow!" is all I can say! The only change I made was to use vegetarian "beef crumbles" instead of tofu. All together this recipe blew my mind! The flavors were exceptional together. The funny thing is that I'm not big on bell peppers, but I thought I'd give it a whirl. Kudos for an excellent, fun, easy recipe. Note: my kids only ate the mixture out, not the peppers, but that's still awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SailorJane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
Wow, this is great. I didn't miss the meat at all. I used walnuts instead of pecans, white japanese rice instead of brown, and shredded parm instead of grated. I cooked the diced tofu in the sauce, but also cooked the cranberries, and nuts in the sauce. I added green onions and diced tomatoes to the stuffing mix as it cooked in the sauce. Afterward, I stirred in white rice and shredded parmesean. Instead of using tomato sauce, I pureed more of the diced tomatoes in a food processor and spooned them on top. I sprinkled w/ shredded parmesean on top before baking. I found there was no need to wait for the stuffing mix to cool before loading up the microwaved peppers. They were great and easy! I served them with sesame green beans and peanut butter noodles. Everyone loved it! No one missed meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
Delicious! A little dry, I would add the sauce with the stuffing before baking, and not spooning it on after.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Looking for Perfection

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Okanagan, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
This was really yummy! I baked the green peppers face down for about 25 min before stuffing them and putting them back in. I also added cumin to the mixture. I did not use the sherry, I didnt have any and wasnt going to buy some since I never use it. I did add the chopped pecans which were really good, I was going to add some raisens but SOMEBODY ate them so I didn't have any left. :) Overall very good and will definately make this again. Its also really good reheated as left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Panama City Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
These were delicious! Adding the cranberries gave it a nice sweet and savory combination. I served it when we had vegetarian friends over and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
This is an interesting dish that is fairly filling. I didn't use cooking sherry but the rice mixture still tasted pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
I wasn't sure what to do w/ the tofu, so I diced it and then added it to the sherry/soy sauce. I used batsmati rice instead of brown. I cut my green peps in half lengthwise and then simmered them for one minute/side before filling them. I added a touch of cinnamon and black pepper to the tomato sauce. The first day they were fine, not bad but nothing amazing. The second day, reheated, they were much better- I also mashed my rice with the sauce the second day. I think mixing the sauce w/ the rice before stuffing might help some? It's a good, filling, vegetarian meal that let me feel guilt free after Xmas dinner. I will make 'em again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
Made this recipe for meat-eaters and veggies alike. For the meaties I added ground beef in three peppers; tofu mix in five other peppers for the veggies. I honestly liked the brown rice mixture better on its own than inside the peppers. Perhaps my huge organic ones were too thick and still very crisp. I'd increase the amount of sauce and maybe layer some sauce while stuffing the peppers. Might increase the amount of cranberries next time as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
This was SO delish, even my carnivore fiance loved it! I bought some huge organic green peppers and cut them in half length-wise. It was plenty for one person. I also added some water on the cookie-sheet towards to end of cooking as to not make burn marks on the pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IEATTOFU
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
We were in the mood for Stuffed Peppers and this recipe looked good. We didn't have any dried cranberries or pecans on hand, so I substituted them with raisins and walnuts, which tasted great. Lots of interesting textures/flavors! My husband raved at how nice the filling was and that it seemed "meaty." I will likely be making this recipe again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IEATTOFU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Coggeshall, Essex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

See how to make a hearty vegetarian main course.

Meatless Stuffed Peppers

Peppers are filled with rice, veggies, and feta cheese.

Stuffed Peppers My Way

These roasted green bell peppers are stuffed with a savory feta and rice mixture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States