Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
very easy and tasty recipe. Deff a must for beginner tofu goers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Very tasty! One of the best 'stuffed pepper' recipes I've tried... Great marinate/ saute for tofu, which I'll use again for other purposes too! I used 'Dragonfly's Bulk Dry Uncheese Mix' (from vegweb.com) instead of parmesan, added some parsley to the stuffing for color (fresh basil would be good too), & changed the cooking strategy a little, but followed the recipe otherwise. I treated it as a make-ahead casserole: microwave-steamed the peppers 6 min, mixed up the stuffing, stuffed the peppers, topped 'em with the tomato sauce mixture, then covered & refrigerated overnight. Baked it, covered, 20 min at 350; uncovered it for another 10... delicious! A little bulky to eat; may experiment with stuffed zuchini next... or maybe *quartered* peppers... this would make a really pretty holiday casserole, with red/ yellow/ green bell quarters stuffed & topped w/ fresh herbs.... hmmm... anyway: YUMMY! thanks for sharing this delicious recipe!! I'll definitely make it again! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hotcooknmama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Fantastic recipe, we made it with the tomato sauce on some and a slice of swiss on others. The Swiss won! When I make it again I will eliminate the sauce and just use Swiss. Also not being vegetarians we used chicken instead of tofu and still wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kpick1124

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I made these yesterday as part of our family Christmas meal for my vegetarian sister in law. They were fantastic!! I made changes out of necessity alone...I used cashews in place of pecans, omitted the tofu and sherry as I didn't have any, added an onion and a clove of garlic...which I fried a bit first in oil before adding the soy and worshestire sauces. I used brown minute rice made with veggie broth due to time constraints. End result was incredible!!! A keeper! Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
We didn't really like this one. May try again but will saute onions and add meat crumbles along with rice and add spaghetti sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Yum! I used 6 red, orange and yellow peppers (I hate green ones). They were tiny little things so I had a lot of left over filling which I will use again soon although I don't know for what. Next time i might throw in some extra cranberries and pecans. Also, I think I will put some of the tomato sauce in the filling mixture instead of spooning on top. Very good all in all :) And a little note about measuring... for the tofu, use one box cubed tofu drained... and 1 large can of tomato sauce = about 3 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
This was delicious w/ a very unique flavo!. Some changesI made: I made more Worcester sauce/sherry/soy sauce than called for in the recipe. Also I splashed some worc sauce/sherry/soy sauce in the fully mixed stuffing, to make it more flavorful & help keep the green pepper moist. I didn't have pecans, so i used walnuts. After I filled the peppers, I rubbed the outside of the pepper with a little olive oil, and dabbed some on the top of the stuffing, figured it might help keep the pepper & stuffing from drying out too much. Oh, and I microwaved for 4 minutes (not 6), as I didn't want the peppers to get overcooked/limpy. I agree with the reviews who said that the tomato sauce should be skipped. It didn't taste bad, it's just that the stuffing tastes so good by itself, that the tomato sauce detracts/masks the yummy flavors inside the green pepper. Next time i will not bother to make the sauce at all. Although I might add an extra little sprinkling of cheese (either Parmesan or Mozzerella) on top next time, and see how that tastes. Somehow, I ended up with not enough stuffing to fill all the peppers? Maybe my peppers were too large. I also had to figure out something to do with the extra tofu (which by the way, I pressed for a half an hour to get excess water out) since my tofu package was larger than what was called for. All in all, a recipe that I will definitely make again, and the best tasting stuffed pepper recipe that i have ever eaten. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
This is delicious. I stayed true to the recipe and everyone liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by glutenfree mommy of 3
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
very good recipe :) I added mozzarella cheese on top... YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by glutenfree mommy of 3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Homer City, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
I enjoyed these very much. I did add a bit of Italian seasoning and garlic to the sauce. Next time I will also put a bit more soy sauce in but it was great as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

See how to make a hearty vegetarian main course.

Meatless Stuffed Peppers

Peppers are filled with rice, veggies, and feta cheese.

Stuffed Peppers My Way

These roasted green bell peppers are stuffed with a savory feta and rice mixture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States