Vegetarian Split Pea Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2002
Perfect combination of spices and herbs! I replaced pasta with 2 medium size patatos though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2003
My husband and I loved this recipe. We agree with a previous reviewer that this is the best split pea soup we've ever tasted. It is shockingly delicious for so few ingredients. It was very simple to make. I used ground ancho chile pepper because that is what I had, and it worked well. I would like to try the chipotle at some point. I like the orzo in there, but it is not necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2004
This was a great, easy to make soup. I would double the recipe next time. The chipotle pepper powder did make a great impact!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
TRY THIS on the stovetop w/out pressure cooker and without soaking! It's easy and tastes better than anything in a can! Skipped the pasta, too. Great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
I wasn't a fan of split pea soup until I found this recipe - this soup is delicious! The chipotle chili powder adds a nice kick. I cook this on the stovetop since I don't have a pressure cooker. I usually puree half the soup once it's finished cooking so it's smooth but still has a little bit of texture. Also, I leave out the orzo because I think the soup is perfect without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2002
it was great, even my kids said it was good,and that means alot. I cooked it stovetop for 2 hours instead of a pressure cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
Very good recipe, I love the chipotle flavoring! I did this a crock pot for about 9 hours, half on high, half on low temp and it turned out great. I stil fryed the vegetables for 5 minutes first and I cooked the orzo seperately and then added it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
this was the first soup i made from scratch and it was delicious! My boyfriend loves it and I do too, I make it in the crock pot turns out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: University Place, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
I made this with yellow split peas instead of green since that's what I had. We don't have a pressure cooker so I did it on the stove-top -- the peas cook quickly anyway -- it was ready in about an hour. The changes I made: I sauted the veggies in 2 tblsps of olive oil on med heat until they were a bit soft then added the dried herbs for 2 more minutes. I also used 1/2 chipotle in adobe rather than the dried. It was excellent; definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
Awesome recipe. Very easy and great for a busy mom. I skipped the pasta and substituted with potatoes. I also skipped celery and the broth since I didn't have any on hand. Instead, I put water and some all-purpose seasoning (may be a tbsp). My 10 mths old had this too so I skipped the chile pepper as well. It was still yummy and SO easy to make! Definitely a keeper in our family. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States