Vegetarian Split Pea Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2002
it was great, even my kids said it was good,and that means alot. I cooked it stovetop for 2 hours instead of a pressure cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2002
Perfect combination of spices and herbs! I replaced pasta with 2 medium size patatos though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
I wasn't a fan of split pea soup until I found this recipe - this soup is delicious! The chipotle chili powder adds a nice kick. I cook this on the stovetop since I don't have a pressure cooker. I usually puree half the soup once it's finished cooking so it's smooth but still has a little bit of texture. Also, I leave out the orzo because I think the soup is perfect without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
TRY THIS on the stovetop w/out pressure cooker and without soaking! It's easy and tastes better than anything in a can! Skipped the pasta, too. Great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2001
This soup tasted pretty good, but I would leave the pasta out next time. It was really thick. I pureed most of it and I might puree less of it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2002
This soup was good, though a bit spicier than I anticipated since I'd never used the dried chipotle chile pepper (which I found in the spice aisle). I would cut way back on the chipotle if I made it again since my kids wouldn't eat it due to the spicy nature. My husband and I thought it was tasty though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MALAWIMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
this was the first soup i made from scratch and it was delicious! My boyfriend loves it and I do too, I make it in the crock pot turns out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: University Place, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
Very good recipe, I love the chipotle flavoring! I did this a crock pot for about 9 hours, half on high, half on low temp and it turned out great. I stil fryed the vegetables for 5 minutes first and I cooked the orzo seperately and then added it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
I made this with yellow split peas instead of green since that's what I had. We don't have a pressure cooker so I did it on the stove-top -- the peas cook quickly anyway -- it was ready in about an hour. The changes I made: I sauted the veggies in 2 tblsps of olive oil on med heat until they were a bit soft then added the dried herbs for 2 more minutes. I also used 1/2 chipotle in adobe rather than the dried. It was excellent; definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2003
My husband and I loved this recipe. We agree with a previous reviewer that this is the best split pea soup we've ever tasted. It is shockingly delicious for so few ingredients. It was very simple to make. I used ground ancho chile pepper because that is what I had, and it worked well. I would like to try the chipotle at some point. I like the orzo in there, but it is not necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States