Vegetarian Split Pea Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
this was the first soup i made from scratch and it was delicious! My boyfriend loves it and I do too, I make it in the crock pot turns out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: University Place, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
TRY THIS on the stovetop w/out pressure cooker and without soaking! It's easy and tastes better than anything in a can! Skipped the pasta, too. Great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
Very good recipe, I love the chipotle flavoring! I did this a crock pot for about 9 hours, half on high, half on low temp and it turned out great. I stil fryed the vegetables for 5 minutes first and I cooked the orzo seperately and then added it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2004
This was a great, easy to make soup. I would double the recipe next time. The chipotle pepper powder did make a great impact!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2003
My husband and I loved this recipe. We agree with a previous reviewer that this is the best split pea soup we've ever tasted. It is shockingly delicious for so few ingredients. It was very simple to make. I used ground ancho chile pepper because that is what I had, and it worked well. I would like to try the chipotle at some point. I like the orzo in there, but it is not necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2002
This soup was good, though a bit spicier than I anticipated since I'd never used the dried chipotle chile pepper (which I found in the spice aisle). I would cut way back on the chipotle if I made it again since my kids wouldn't eat it due to the spicy nature. My husband and I thought it was tasty though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MALAWIMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2002
Perfect combination of spices and herbs! I replaced pasta with 2 medium size patatos though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2002
it was great, even my kids said it was good,and that means alot. I cooked it stovetop for 2 hours instead of a pressure cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2001
This soup tasted pretty good, but I would leave the pasta out next time. It was really thick. I pureed most of it and I might puree less of it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2001
Best tasting pea soup I ever ate!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States