Vegetarian Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
My wife and I loved this. I think next time I'd make more of the sauce -- I like my sloppy joes sloppy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
I had to increase the "sauce" 4 fold and it was delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
Used black beans instead of meat substitute
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
Instead of the Tempeh, I used Tofu. For those people that don't know the difference, Tempeh is less processed than Tofu but if you can't find Tempeh, Tofu is a fine substitute. I gave this only four stars because it was a little on the spicy side, which can be tweaked. However, the molasses and honey, was a great kick to this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I have and it was good, I had to replace with sugar as I didn't have any honey or brown sugar, made it a bit sweet, we are vegetarians so I used TVP in place of meat, all ingredients in the recipe are all great for the flavoring of TVP, I used catsup in place of tomatoe sause I couldn't make myself open a whole can of tomato sause just to use 2tablespoons +2tsp of tomato sause and I opened a can of roasted diced tomatoes for the liquid for the TVP made it excellent yummy next I won't use as much sugar next time I will have honey or brown sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
I did not care for this recipe as written. I added extra tomato sauce (as others suggested). I also added about 2 T chili powder, 1 T apple cider vinegar, about 1/3 cup ketchup, and an extra dash of salt & pepper. Also, I suggest adding the bell pepper when you add the onions, the bell peppers could use the extra cooking time for a softer result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2013
Very yummy! My whole family enjoyed these! We used Lightlife's Veggie "ground beef" instead of tempeh and you'd never know you were missing meat! Also, skipped the molasses. Keeping this in our rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
This is a solid recipe. That being said, I'm totally going to be that guy who made something very different from what the recipe says to do... I made my own unseasoned marinara to serve as the base. Dice a tomato or two, an onion and some garlic. Mix in tomato paste and a touch of water. Then season that sauce with the spices listed in this recipe until it tastes that way that you want it to taste. I didn't use Worcestershire sauce. I used Bragg's amino acids instead. I do think it would be better the next time with a touch of brown sugar. I used the fake crumbly hamburger meat stuff instead of the tempe. I mixed in some fresh black and pinto beans that i cooked in my pressure cooker. I used some green and red pepper. I served on a fresh organic ciabatta roll that I found in my grocery store's bakery. This is totally in the rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
I didnt like tempeh. The recipe was dry. I ended up adding the whole can of tomato sauce. I ended up adding it to my vegetarian soup in order for me to eat it. - Renee
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
My only comment is that this can be a bit dry (using veggie crumbles). I'd use just one 12 oz package; I tried using 16 oz, per the recipe (for tempeh). I'd also add a whole small can of tomato sauce...more than a 1/4 cup. Otherwise, the flavors were awesome in this recipe. Best veggie sloppy joe I've had so far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Sloppy Joes

See how to make a delicious Sloppy Joe with ground turkey!

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States